A Lily - Ten Drones On Cassette (Limited CD Edition, Numbered)

Country: Greece
Label: Sound In Silence
Released: 27 Dec 2017
Genre: Electronic / Ambient / Instrumental
Order sis047

Shipping Rate: A


* Limited CD Edition, Numbered
* This is a limited edition of 200 handmade and hand-numbered collectible copies. The physical disc includes the edited versions of all tracks. It is packaged in a lovely hand-stamped 127mm x 127mm 260 gsm pale brown cardboard envelope with the front cover image printed on a polaroid style photo paper and an insert with the tracklist and the credits printed on a 160 gsm moss green cardboard. It also comes bundled with a download code coupon which includes as bonus the full versions of the tracks, each one between 37 to 50 minutes, and a Sound In Silence card.

Description (English):
Sound In Silence is happy to announce the addition of A Lily to its roster of artists, presenting his new album entitled Ten Drones On Cassette.

A Lily is the solo project of James Vella, better known as member of instrumental post-rock band Yndi Halda. Based in Brighton, UK, and bringing together influences as diverse as ambient, folktronica, electronica and modern classical, since 2006 he has released two albums, three EPs and one single on labels such as Dynamophone Records, p*dis, Fierce Panda, Love Thy Neighbour and Aagoo Records. As a live act, A lily has shared the stage with Amiina, Peter Broderick, Silver Apples, Yndi Halda, Silje Nes, Memoryhouse and others.

Ten Drones On Cassette, A Lily’s third full-length album and first since 2011, consists of ten new compositions with a total duration of something more than 50 minutes. As the album title suggests, the concept of the album is based on the idea of recording a collection of ten cinematic ambient and minimalist drone tracks, each one on a different cassette. Each track is named after and inspired by a specific person and takes up about a complete side of a cassette. The project was firstly self-released by A Lily in spring 2017 in just ten cassettes, each limited to one copy and including a different track. Ten Drones On Cassette was recorded using various instruments, including guitar, voice, organ, clarinet, brass and many others, and treated with a multitude of effects and acoustic processing, resulting in a sublime collection of dreamy soundscapes and hypnotic textures.

1. Hildur 04:00
2. Selasse 05:20
3. Konstantin 05:20
4. Solomon And Adama 04:32
5. Enrico 05:52
6. Miles 04:16
7. Jas 05:20
8. Layla 05:20
9. Zadie 04:48
10. Didem 05:36

Also by A Lily

See also...

Lymbyc Systym - Carved By Glaciers (CD Edition)

Remastered re-issue of LYMBYC SYSTYM’s long out-of-print self-released debut. Gorgeous 6p digipak features brand new artwork and substantial bonus remixes from HER SPACE HOLIDAY and AMERICAN ANALOG SET! Brand new artwork rounds this one out. The last few years have certainly birthed an awareness of what “instrumental music” is amongst the general populace. LYMBYC SYSTYM [...]

Hotel New Tokyo - Tokyo Abstract Skater EP (Japanese CDEP Edition)

* Japanese Edition
Description (English):
Description (Japanese):
2009年3月リリース以来、いまだロングセールスを誇る2ndアルバム『2009 spring/summer』から2曲のセルフリミックスや圧巻のライブテイク、エリオット・スミスのカバーなどを収録。今回も様々なカルチャーが交差するクロスオーヴァーなサウンドを披露しています!
1. Tokyo Abstract Skater #1 – MP3
2. The White Lady Loves You More
3. A Man & Rooster 90’s – MP3
4. Forever Young – MP3
5. Dawn – MP3
6. Let me turn you on (electric city ver.) – MP3
7. Tokyo Abstract Skater#2 – MP3
8.Gaudi Melancholic -live edit- [Bonus Track]

Munk Various - Gommagang 3

Gommagang 3 is the third compilation of Germany’s Gomma label. Club hits, remixes & unreleased tracks from the last two years. Previously released on vinyl only. Including stuff by Headman, WhoMadeWho, Midnight Mike and Munk plus (vocal & remix) contributions by guest artists like The Rapture, Francisco, DJ Chloe, Midnight Mike and James Murphy (LCD [...]

eShop Cart

0.