Half Japanese - Perfect (1LP Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Joyful Noise Recordings
Released: 22 Jan 2016
Genre: Rock / Art Punk / Experimental / Indie Rock / Lo-Fi
Order JNR183

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Edition

Description (English):
Founded by brothers Jad & David Fair in 1975, the band is credited with pioneering the DIY and lo-fi movements and influencing everyone from Sonic Youth and Neutral Milk Hotel to Daniel Johnston and Kurt Cobain (who asked the band to open some of the dates on Nirvana’s In Utero tour.) Known for dismissing conventional music basics like melody, song structure and chords (and for Jad’s famous line “the only chord I know is the one that connects the guitar to the amp”), Half Japanese operated under the premise that rock music should be accessible to anyone who wanted to play.

Having released over two dozen EPs, LPs, and live albums between 1977 and 2001, Half Japanese returned in 2014 with Overjoyed, their first studio album in thirteen years and their first release for Joyful Noise Recordings. The uncharacteristically-accessible album was widely praised for its mix of upbeat positivity with the band’s signature off-kilter subject matter. They followed it with a surprise EP, Bingo Ringo, in July 2015.

Perfect is a collection of songs that feature otherworldly sounds, chaotic rhythms, and weird time signatures, topped off with Jad’s brash vocals and oddball lyrics. Its tracks run the gamut from sweet love songs with overtly sincere lyrics to manic, almost abrasive tracks that seem to end before you can fully wrap your head around them. With Perfect, Half Japanese manages to combine elements of every genre imaginable into one strange, unpredictable, and undeniably-catchy package.

A1 That Is That
A2 We Cannot Miss
A3 You And I
A4 Perfect
A5 Hold On
A6 Man Without A Shadow
B1 Here We Are
B2 Listen To Your Heart
B3 We’ll Go Far
B4 That’s Called Love
B5 In Your Spell
B6 A New Beginning
B7 That’s Right

Also by Half Japanese

See also...

Low - Things We Lost In The Fire (2LP Gatefold Edition)

* D side is blank.
* AAA recordings
Description (English):
Another Minnesota slow-down from the frozen prairie’s coolest trio. Fourteen tracks of sparse and drifting space pop soothe, floated on the beautiful vocals of ALAN SPARHAWK and MIMI PARKER, and anchored by ZAK SALLY’s dreamy bass.
A1. Sunflower
A2. Whitetail
A3. Dinosaur Act
A4. Medicine Magazines
A5. Laser Beam
B1. July
B2. Embrace
B3. Whore
B4. Kind [...]

The Cult Of Dom Keller - Goodbye To The Light (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
TCODK – a four-piece from the Midlands – make the kind of experimental goth- tinged psych that, has thus far, eluded 2016. Fans of Swans and The Icarus Line will find plenty to entertain them here – this is a band unafraid to take risks. The thing that first impresses on hearing [...]

Oren Ambarchi - Sagittarian Domain (CD Edition)

* Digipack CD
Description (English):
For anyone who still associates Oren Ambarchi exclusively with the clipped, bass-heavy tones of solo electric guitar works such as Suspension, this rhythmically churning one-man-band monster of an album-length piece might seem to come out of nowhere. However, listeners who have followed the breadth of his work for the last few years [...]

eShop Cart

0.