D.A.F (aka Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft) - Das Ist DAF (5LP + 7″, Slipmat, Book, Card BOXSET)

Country: E.U.
Label: Grönland Records
Released: 29 Sep 2017
Genre: Electronic / Experimental / EBM / Techno / New Wave
Order LPGRON175

Shipping Rate: F


* This box features the first four original DAF vinyls,
a remix vinyl called „Reworks“, a 7“ with brand new DAF tracks, a slipmat, an original autograph card, a 36-page booklet (with previously unseen pictures by Anton Corbijn and Sheila Rock among others) and a download code.
* * Please note: the prices of this vinyl box which show on our web-store is different than our store due to the postage. We are strongly recommended to all customer to come over and visit to our store in Shanghai street if you around in Hong Kong. thanks a lot.

Description (English):
Many things have been said about this band: they were called the “godfathers of techno”, the pioneers of EBM and the forefathers of electropunk. Yet they only laugh coolly and remain tight-lipped in the face of any attempt to historicize them. Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft – better known as DAF – is a myth.

What we know is that they released four albums in a short time span between 1980 and 1982, and that those albums changed the history of music worldwide. Yet DAF’s international renown certainly was not based in the name: Gabi Delgado-López and Robert Görl were never looking for friendship; their expressions were invariably ones of steely, piercing stares, and they presented themselves with a precisely staged iciness that belied the ardor burning inside them.

DAF initially formed as a quintet in the confines of Ratinger Hof in Düsseldorf, alongside bands like Fehlfarben, Der Plan, Mittagspause and others, but later adopted a conceptual approach that left no space for other “young lords.” From that point on they worked as a duo. With precision percussive elements mastered in classical jazz training, a legendary Korg MS-20 and a highly fetishistic militaristic spoken-word style, they produced four albums in quick succession – records that could be construed as substitutes for sex, drugs and violence. While the first album, Die kleinen und die Bösen – on which half the tracks were recorded in Conny Plank’s studio while the B-side contained live recordings – still hinted at roots in original punk music, they then created a triptych of leathery, sweat-soaked hedonism on Alles ist Gut, Gold und Liebe and Für immer. In the early 1980s the records in the DAF box set Groenland Records is now releasing quickly made this duo the international figurehead of the music everyone now associates with the Rhine region: DAF, along with Kraftwerk and Can, were the pioneers of German electronic music. They were always in vogue. Sequencers, synthesizers, commanding drum beats and the most cutting staccato spoken-word vocals – an alliteration only disrupted by the notion of the uniform. Very few bands have managed to contrive their own look in such masterly fashion, and to even make it a subject of their work: “Was ziehst du an heut nacht?,” “Verehrt euren Haarschnitt” and – oh yes – “Tanz den Mussolini.”

DAF’s militaristic aspect is only broken by their attitude of denial, which invites us to dance in the dark with them and to follow Delgado-López’s rhythmic movements – even if he seems to be dancing entirely for himself. Perhaps it is that contradiction itself that renders this duo so eternal.

Die Kleinen Und Die Bösen
1-1 Osten Währt Am Längsten 5:45
1-2 Essen Dann Schlafen 1:06
1-3 Co Co Pino 3:25
1-4 Kinderfunk 3:02
1-5 Nacht Arbeit 1:53
1-6 Ich Gebe Dir Ein Stück Von Mir 1:41
1-7 De Panne 2:34
1-8 Gewalt 1:24
1-9 Gib’s Mir 1:01
1-10 Auf Wiedersehen 2:03
1-11 Das Ist Liebe 1:18
1-12 Was Ist Eine Welle 1:15
1-13 Anzufassen Und Anzufassen 1:44
1-14 Volkstanz 0:48
1-15 Die Lustigen Stiefel 1:49
1-16 Die Kleinen Und Die Bösen 1:05
1-17 Die Fesche Lola 1:41
1-18 El Basilon 2:52
1-19 Y La Gracia 2:03

Alles Ist Gut
2-1 Sato-Sato (Sato-Sato) 2:49
2-2 Der Mussolini (The Mussolini) 3:54
2-3 Rote Lippen (Red Lips) 2:42
2-4 Mein Herz Macht Bum (My Heart Goes Boom) 4:28
2-5 Der Räuber Und Der Prinz (The Robber And The Prince) 3:29
2-6 Ich Und Die Wirklichkeit (Me And Reality) 3:05
2-7 Als Wär’s Das Letzte Mal (If It Were The Last Time) 3:23
2-8 Verlier Nicht Den Kopf (Don’t Lose Your Head) 3:17
2-9 Alle Gegen Alle (Everybody Fights Everybody) 3:56
2-10 Alles Ist Gut (Everything Is Good) 3:26

Gold Und Liebe
3-1 Liebe Auf Den Ersten Blick 3:54
3-2 El Que 3:30
3-3 Sex Unter Wasser 3:00
3-4 Was Ziehst Du An Heute Nacht 3:42
3-5 Goldenes Spielzeug 3:53
3-6 Ich Will 3:17
3-7 Muskel 3:19
3-8 Absolute Körperkontrolle 3:10
3-9 Verschwende Deine Jugend 3:44
3-10 Greif Nach Den Sternen 3:34

Für Immer
4-1 Im Dschungel Der Liebe 4:11
4-2 Ein Bisschen Krieg 4:00
4-3 Die Götter Sind Weiss 3:00
4-4 Verlieb Dich In Mich 3:44
4-5 Geheimnis 3:22
4-6 Kebab Träume 4:00
4-7 Prinzessin 4:16
4-8 Die Lippe 3:11
4-9 Verehrt Euren Haarschnitt 3:22
4-10 Wer Schön Sein Will, Muss Leiden 3:33

5-1 Mussolini (Giorgio Moroder & Denis Naidanov Remix) 4:00
5-2 Sato Sato (Westbam ML Remix) 6:44
5-3 Als Wär’s Das Letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) 4:56
5-4 Liebe Auf Den Ersten Blick (Görl & Hell Remix) 6:31
5-5 Goldenes Spielzeug (LOR Remix) 8:50
5-6 Mussolini (Gabis Delgados Hysteric Disco Remix) 5:26

Also by D.A.F (aka Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft)

See also...

Pan Sonic - Gravitoni (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
Pan Sonic is Mika Vainio and Ilpo Väisänen. All hail the unsmiling Finns. “After this, Pan Sonic goes into deep freeze,” says Vainio, in one of his more loquacious moments. Eleven tracks of their trademark warm, deep, muscular sound that acts as a personal trainer to your speaker cones. Gravitoni is their [...]

Nurse With Wound Jim O'Rourke - Angry Eelectric Finger 1 : Tape Monkey Mooch

* CD is unlimited in a full color digipack.
Description (English):
The first installment in STEVEN STAPLETON’s Angry Electric Finger series featuring original NURSE WITH WOUND recordings that have been worked on by a select group of friends, and then finished by Stapleton. This time in JIM O’ROURKE joins in, and the festivities take an ambient turn, [...]

Exploded View - Summer Came Early EP (12″ Vinyl Edition)

* 12″ Vinyl Edition
Description (English):
Exploded View is: Annika Henderson, Martin Thulin, Hugo Quezada and Amon Melgarejo.
After finishing the songs that became their self-titled debut LP for Sacred Bones, Exploded View decided to go back into the studio and record some more. Mixed in with some of the outtakes of the first record, such as “Mirror [...]

eShop Cart

0.