Popol Vuh - For You And Me (1LP Limited Edition, Repress)

Country: U.S.
Label: One Way Static Records
Released: 31 Aug 2017
Genre: Electronic / Prog Rock / Folk Rock / Rock / Synth-pop
Order OWS18

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Limited Edition, Repress
* Out of print since 1991 & first ever vinyl release outside of Europe

Description (English):
Born as Florian Fricke’s brainchild, Popol Vuh needs little introduction, the band stayed active between the late 1960s & late 1990s (until Florian’s passing in 2001). Regarded as pioneers in avant-garde German electronic music, their early works practically laid down the foundations for ‘Kosmische Muzik’ (Space Music) with the then new sounds of the Moog synthesizer joined with ethnic percussions.

Later the group evolved to include all kinds of instruments (both electric and acoustic alike) shrouding their music in a spiritual & introspective mystical aura. Popol Vuh influenced many other European bands with their uniquely soft but elaborate instrumentation, which took inspiration from the music of Tibet, Africa and pre-Columbian America. With music sometimes described as “ethereal”, they created soundscapes through psychedelic walls of sound, and are regarded as precursors of contemporary ‘world music’, as well as of ‘new age’ and ‘ambient’. Popol Vuh regularly contributed soundtracks to the films of Werner Herzog that include classics like ‘Aguirre’, ‘Nosferatu’, ‘Heart Of Glass’ & ‘Cobra Verde’.

‘For You And Me’ was their 17th album & now 28 years it holds up more than ever. While decidedly new age and world music in sound (with musical elements from the Himalayas, Ireland, Greece and Africa), this album has style and grace, and the updated sonic quality makes it a pleasure to listen to. The light pieces combined with their timeless dramatic signature sound, the majestic piano chords, the profound lyrics and the crescendos of emotions set this album apart from the banal new age mainstream. The authentic Popul Vuh spirituality permeates on every track here, prepare for goose bumps and a divine moment, in For You And Me, they created a more modern day classic, easily their best album of the 90’s.

Out of print since 1991 and never released on vinyl outside of Europe, now back available as a gorgeously packaged deluxe vinyl edition. Strictly limited to 700 copies (black vinyl) with spot-varnished details on the jacket. Next to the black vinyl pressing, a color vinyl variant (#300 copies black & clear swirl vinyl) is also available exclusively from Light In The Attic & Mondo in North America and from Transmission Records in Europe.

A1 For You And Me 5:24
A2 Wind Of The Stars In Their Eyes 3:03
A3 Little Bazaari 7:48
A4 Compassion 5:57
B1 When Love Is Calling You 4:11
B2 In Your Eyes 0:55
B3 OM Mani Padme Hum 1 1:09
B4 OM Mani Padme Hum 2 2:45
B5 OM Mani Padme Hum 3 4:30
B6 OM Mani Padme Hum 4 5:17
B7 For You 2:02

Also by Popol Vuh

See also...

Port-Royal - Where Are You Now (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
Where Are You Now is the fourth proper album from Italian widescreen dancegaze trio port-royal. It’s been nearly six years since their previous full length Dying in Time (n5MD) and not counting compilation appearances, remix and rarities anthology 2011s 2000-2010: The Golden Age Of Consumerism (n5MD) and the Diamat album that port-royal [...]

David Holmes - LateNightTales (180g 2LP Limited Edition, Remastered)

* 180g 2LP Limited Edition, Remastered
* 180 gram virgin vinyl. Includes bonus exclusive download code to the mix and 19 full length unmixed tracks in WAV, Flac & MP3 format (info taken from sticker).
Description (English):
DJ and producer David Holmes is welcomed to the Late Night Tales fraternity with an evocative collection of personal songs and [...]

Young Fathers - Dead (1LP Edition)

* 1LP Edition, Includes a download code
Description (English):
There is no other pop group like Young Fathers. And if you got as far as ‘pop’ and thought, “ah, that’s what they are, file under daytime radio one” then you haven’t listened, at. All.
When you heard Ronnie Spector’s voice battle through the ego-orchestra of her husband, or [...]

eShop Cart

0.