Various - AOR Global Sounds 1976-1985 (Volume 3) 2LP Gatefold Edition

Country: France
Label: Favorite Recordings
Released: 14 April 2017
Genre: Fusion / Funk / Soul / AOR / Soul / Disco
Order FVR130LP

Shipping Rate: E


* 2LP Gatefold Edition

Description (English):
Favorite Recordings and Charles Maurice proudly present the 3rd edition of their acclaimed AOR Global Sounds compilations series. Another brilliant selection of 14 rare and hidden tracks, produced between 1976 and 1985 in various parts of the world.

On AOR Global Sounds Vol.3, DJ and producer Charles Maurice delivers again a fine overview of the AOR and WestCoast influences for many artists in the late 70s and early 80s. Even more than on previous volumes, he selected highly forgotten productions, deeply infused with Disco and Soul flavors.

Many of these great gems were naturally produced through all the USA, often made by artists with a very short career and as private press. For example, Jeff Silna only recorded this amazing song after winning the competition of a long gone Miami radio station, the Stratus project started around 1974 in Rhinelander, Wisconsin, and was a band led by Bob Ackley who only released this 7” single in 1976 after recording a full album and doing a few gigs around Michigan, John Kontol (Jon Konteau), however having credits for a few productions and appearances and still acting as a musician, never released another LP after his heartbreaking experience with Erect Records, that never rewarded him for his work and even change his name against his consent, as for “Dirt (In The Sky” by 7 Days Unlimited, whose both members were from Pittsburgh area, where a lot of dirt was literally flying in the air, the song was released in 1980 on a very limited 500 copies 7” single.

But this kind of stories and waste of talent is not solely and American privilege, from Willy Santana (member of Placa Luminosa) in Brazil, and Funky Team in Sweden, to Stacey and Out Of The Fog in Canada, this 3rd edition proves again if necessary the international scope and fervor of this music scene, and the surprising amount of great music that go unnoticed at that time.

Fully remastered from originals, with great attention to sound quality as always, AOR Global Sounds Vol.3 (1976-1985, selected by Charles Maurice) is presented by Favorite Recordings in a gatefold vinyl double LP and as CD.

A1 –Jeff Silna It’s Always Something With You 3:30
A2 –Stratus Girl 4:33
A3 –7 Days Unlimited Dirt (In The Sky) 3:25
B1 –Willy Santana* Mais Uma Chance 2:47
B2 –Funky Team It’s About Time 2:57
B3 –James D. Hall* I Wanna Get Into You 3:58
B4 –George Nasif Don’t Let The Devil 3:21
C1 –Omega Sunrise Heartbreaker 4:10
C2 –Steve Turner Harbor Place 5:06
C3 –Billy Always More Than A Minute 3:37
D1 –Stacey Keeps Me Hangin On 3:08
D2 –Archie James Cavanaugh Light Unto The World 3:49
D3 –Out Of The Fog Heart To Heart 3:39
D4 –Jon Konteau The Heckler 3:19

Also by Various

See also...

The Belbury Poly - New Ways Out (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
The eagerly awaitied fifth album from The Belbury Poly, the work of Ghost Box co-founder Jim Jupp. Jupp and his loose ensemble of session musicians create a unique kind of upbeat spookiness. They meld krautrock, glam, faux folk and ancient TV soundtracks across eleven joyous, slightly camp and oddly unsettling instrumentals.
On one [...]

Piano Interrupted - The Unified Field (180g 1LP Edition)

* Thick matte covers and thick printed inner sleeves, 180g vinyl, free mp3 download code. This is black vinyl, limited to 350 pieces!
Description (English):
Piano Interrupted is the brainchild of London-based pianist and composer Tom Hodge and French electronic producer Franz Kirmann. Coming from two very different musical worlds (electronica, pop and techno for Franz; classical [...]

Blockhead - Bells And Whistles (2LP Limited Colored Edition, Repress)

* 2LP Limited Colored Edition, Repress
* Download Code Included
Description (English):
Bells and Whistles, the new double LP from acclaimed independent musician Blockhead, provides more of the explosive beats and pulsating rhythms his fans have come to expect over the last decade. Rich in texture and eclectic in composition, this album will serve as the perfect soundtrack [...]

eShop Cart

0.