Lali Puna - Two Windows (CD Edition)

Country: Germany
Label: Morr Music
Released: 8 Sep 2017
Genre: Electronic / Pop / Downtempo / Electro
Order morr 156cd

Shipping Rate: A


* CD Edition

Description (English):
The world has changed rapidly since Lali Puna released Our Inventions in 2010, a fact that is also reflected in the band’s fifth album, Two Windows. Written and produced over almost two years, these twelve new songs meet those changes head-on both musically and lyrically. Songwriter and singer Valerie Trebeljahr and long-time band members Christian »Taison« Heiß and Christoph Brandner – Two Windows is the first album recorded after Markus Acher’s departure from the band– opted for a more dancefloor-friendly sound while not neglecting the pop sentiments rooted in Lali Puna’s sound. Taking its cues from a brand of music spearheaded by the likes of Caribou, Ada or even Mount Kimbie, Two Windows sounds lush and focused, balancing the emotional qualities of Trebeljahr’s songwriting with energetic rhythms.

A tour in South Korea rekindled Trebeljahr’s urge to make music after she had focused her career as a journalist as well as on her family. While she was mostly working on new material with Heiß, Trebeljahr also sought out collaborations. Keith Tenniswood (Two Lone Swordsmen) contributed as Radioactive Man. Dntel aka Jimmy Tamborello, another old friend of the band, is featured as well as harpist / Ghostly International alumna Mary Lattimore and experimental artist Midori Hirano (here under her MimiCof moniker).

While Two Windows is thus partly a collaborative effort, it is first and foremost an album about emancipation and a new beginning for Lali Puna. Opening with the lines »You got two windows and a pillow / So what do you want?«, the album sets out to answer that question while exploring topics including personal freedom, the presence of surveillance technologies in our lives and the progressive gentrification of urban centers. Two Windows is not an explicitly political album however. In fact, much like a window, Trebeljahr’s lyrics always allow their listeners to look at things from two sides. While they emphasize problems, they also empathize with those who have to put up with them. Trebeljahr has not come to preach, but wants to forge emotional connections.

Musically speaking, the lyrical subtleties are reflected in a well-defined sound that likes to shake things up as well. Genderflipping an old Kings Of Leon tune to present a great piece of music in an entirely different context? You possibly wouldn’t expect that on a Lali Puna record, but as Trebeljahr sings herself in »Wonderland«: »Cause all things will change / Cause all things must change«. Two Windows presents the Lali Puna sound in a different light than before. But how couldn’t it, if the world around us has changed so drastically? And while some of its songs may pick up problematic topics, Two Windows’ final words must be taken at face value: »Carry your head up high!« This is an album about, and an act of, emancipation after all.

1 Two Windows 4:04
2 Deep Dream 4:04
3 Come Out Your House 4:01
4 The Frame 4:47
5 Wear My Heart 2:42
6 Bony Fish 3:37
7 Her Daily Break 4:00
8 Wonderland 4:05
9 Birds Flying High 4:28
10 The Bucket 3:33
11 Everything Counts On 4:18
12 Head Up High 4:59

Also by Lali Puna

See also...

Tim Hecker - Norberg

(Released in the Room40 ‘editions’ series, Maxi-Single 5″CD, Limited Edition)
Recorded at the Norberg Festival (Sweden) amidst the mineshafts and cluttered buildings strewn throughout parts the city, this 21 minute live piece summarises much of what makes Tim Hecker’s music so vital and compelling.
Adept at counter-pointing the most ferocious of distorted platters with smooth beds of [...]

Gus Gus - 24/7

2009 release from the Icelandic Electronic act. With six songs spanning over 50 minutes, 24/7 showcases their wealth of musical knowledge in creating some of the most turbulent, engrossing Pop-Techno-House tunes in Dance music history. ‘Thin Ice’ breaks through with it’s throbbing bass line and sees Daniel Agust return for the first time since the [...]

Number0 - Sero

* Japanese Edition
number0 is a band based in Tokyo Japan, formed in 2004.
CD Information (Japanese Only):
1 Moona
2 Round Round
3 Dr. Insomnia
4 Onde
5 Well Home
6 Chocolat Title

eShop Cart

0.