Widowspeak - Expect the Best (1LP Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Captured Tracks
Released: 25 Aug 2017
Genre: Rock / Indie Rock / Shoegaze / Ethereal
Order CT-266

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Edition
* Download Code Included

Description (English):
Widowspeak remain purveyors of mood. Whether painting an image of a basement apartment with blinds closed or conjuring the sweeping openness of a desert, they’re an outfit ever preoccupied with the influence of place and the passage of time on personal experience: the way vivid memories can feel like movies or dreams.

On their newest album for Brooklyn’s Captured Tracks, Widowspeak use familiar aesthetics as a narrative device, a purposeful nostalgic backdrop for songs that ask, “How did we get here?” Sonically, they exist somewhere in the overlap between somber indie rock, dream pop, slow-core and their own invented genre, “cowboy grunge.” At the heart of the band, there is a palpable duality, a push and pull between the delicate and the deliberate: the contrast of lead singer-songwriter Molly Hamilton’s strikingly beautiful voice and poignant melodies with the terrestrial reality of being a four-piece rock band. These songs sound like the dark bars and rock clubs they were imagined for just as much as the bedrooms where they were written. Expect the Best sees Widowspeak finding their greatest balance between opposing forces: darkness and light, quiet and loud, tension and calm.

The album was written while Hamilton was living in Tacoma, Washington after previous stints in upstate New York and Brooklyn. So much moving around, and specifically a move back to the place she grew up, was the catalyst for a record concerned with self-examination and the sense of dread that comes from feeling adrift (“Dog”). Whether navigating the anxieties of social media and self-preservation in the digital age (“Expect the Best”), struggling to maintain motivation (“When I Tried”), or critiquing western-centric wanderlust and aspiration (“The Dream”), the songs here recognize that there’s no going back in time. Hamilton’s lyrics explore the space between regret and anticipation, reconciling the desire to dwell with a need to “expect the best,” even as the best seems unlikely.

A1 The Dream 4:19
A2 When I Tried 4:42
A3 Dog 3:49
A4 Warmer 3:50
A5 Good Sport 1:45
B1 Let Me 3:43
B2 Right On 2:51
B3 Expect The Best 3:34
B4 Fly On The Wall 7:00

Also by Widowspeak

See also...

Huminoita - All Is Two (CD Edition)

* Digipack CD
Description (English):
Huminoita is a finnish word that can be related to the wind between the trees. Sounds made by the wind and the branches. Noita means ‘a witch’ in finnish. Humi-noita has definitely some connections to the forests and witches of Finland.
Or does Huminoita have something to do with humanoids? Or maybe humanoids [...]

Various 不失者 Fushitsusha Ghost - Tokyo Flashback 3 (Japanese CD Edition)

* Japanese CD Edition
Description (English):
3rd volume of Tokyo Flashback series! Totally 11 groups perform deep sounds. Include Fushitsusha, White Heaven, Shizuka,O verhang Party, etc.
1. Overhang Party – 発熱 – 7:49
2. White Heaven 正午の庭 – [Midsummer Stroll] – 5:36
3. 不失者 – 気がつきだした – 11:28
4. Cobalt – 撫の山々 – 3:01
5. クモとハエ – Bottom Of The Night – [...]

Orchid - Sign Of The Witch (10″ Gatefold Colored Limited Edition, Reissue)

* Issued in a gatefold sleeve.
* Limited Edition, Reissue, Electric Blue
Description (English):
‘Sign Of The Witch’ showcases the band’s signature sound while exploring the beauty of variety by including more psych, more groove, more infectious hooks and even more blues. A perfect blend of ’70s inspired heavy psychedelic rock.
A1. Helicopters
A2. John The Tiger
B1. Sign Of [...]

eShop Cart

0.