MGMT - LateNightTales (180g 2LP Limited Edition, Remastered)

Country: U.K.
Label: LateNightTales
Released: 13 Oct 2011
Genre: Rock / Psychedelic Rock / Indie Rock / Blues / Country
Order ALNLP26

Shipping Rate: E


* 180g 2LP Limited Edition, Remastered
* ‘Half speed’ remastered for optimum audiophile reproduction
* Includes bonus exclusive download code to MGMT’s “LateNightTales” mix as well as unmixed track versions in both WAV & MP3 formats

Description (English):
Formed in 2002 in Brooklyn, New York the band consists of multi-instrumentalists Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, both alumni of Wesleyan University. Their 2008 debut album ‘Oracular Spectacular’ spawned the almost ubiquitous hit singles ‘Kids’, ‘Time To Pretend’ and ‘Electric Feel’ while 2010’s follow up ‘Congratulations’ saw them embrace more of a progressive, guitar-driven sound.

The band’s Late Night Tales selection of post-punk, cult indie and counter-culture figureheads reflects the band’s multifaceted sound, and draws comparisons with contemporary dreampop/chillwave/shoegaze/folk scenes on both sides of the Atlantic.

The listener finds MGMT presiding over the playlist “after-the-after-party”; daybreak creeping through the curtains earlier than desirable, broken bodies lining the corridors, the emotionally bankrupt kept alive by timeless songs of heartache and longing.

Luminaries The Velvet Underground, Suicide and Julian Cope, although not with their most famous songs, sit alongside less familiar names
such as Disco Inferno; whose ‘Can’t See It Through’ from their final ‘96 album ‘Technicolour’ opens proceedings.

MGMT’s exclusive cover of ‘All We Ever Wanted Was Everything’ by Bauhaus sits comfortably alongside the UK post-punk-gothic band’s
peers The Durutti Column, The Chills, The Jacobites and Felt’s brief but imposing instrumental ‘Red Indians’.

Paranoia strikes deep: the double header of Cheval Sombre’s ‘Troubled Mind’ and ‘Drug Song’ by 60’s Christian folk singer Dave Bixby
accentuate the hope offered by the ever penitent Spacemen 3 (MGMT’s second album ‘Congratulations’ was recorded with founder Pete Kember aka Sonic Boom), who deliver ‘Lord Can You Hear Me?’ in respect to the beautiful closer ‘Morning Splendor’, taken from Pauline Anna Strom’s rare ‘82 LP ‘Trans-Millenia Consort‘.

A1 –Disco Inferno Can’t See Through It 3:59
A2 –The Great! Society* Love You Girl 3:16
A3 –Suicide Cheree 3:26
A4 –Martin Rev Sparks 3:24
A5 –Television Personalities Stop & Smell The Roses 3:58
B1 –The Velvet Underground Ocean (Outtake Version) 5:04
B2 –Felt Red Indians 1:55
B3 –Julian Cope Laughing Boy 5:15
B4 –The Durutti Column For Belgian Friends 3:28
C1 –MGMT All We Ever Wanted Was Everything 4:24
C2 –Mark Fry Song For Wilde 1:58
C3 –Cheval Sombre Troubled Mind 4:48
C4 –Dave Bixby Drug Song 3:19
D1 –Jacobites* Hearts Are Like Flowers 4:10
D2 –The Chills Pink Frost 3:44
D3 –Spacemen 3 Lord Can You Hear Me? 4:31
D4 –Paul Morley Lost For Words Part 2 3:23

Also by MGMT

See also...

Styrofoam - Disco Synthesizers & Daily Tranquilizers

* Japanese Edition with Obi sleeve.
* Plus Three Bonus Track.
Description (English):
Belgium-based indie-electro pop artist Styrofoam (aka Arne Van Petegem) is set to release his new full-length album Disco Synthesizers & Daily Tranquilizers on October 12. The first single, “Get Smarter,” will be out August 24, along with five remixes of the track and b-side “Kids [...]

Folk Squat - It Could Be Done If It Could Be Imagined

* Japanese Edition with Obi sleeve.
folk squat is a home-recording unit formed by 2 Japanese, Katsuyuki Tahara & Taiji Hiramatsu in 2002. Started by using Hard Disk Recorder “KORG D1200″ to record, mix all tracks & released 1st Album “missing weather” in 2003 and also 2nd album “I KNOW YOU KNOW” in 2004. Since D1200 [...]

Yomoya - Yawn

* Japanese Edition with Obi sleeve.
YOMOYA, a 4 piece band coming out of central Tokyo are an indies band with flares of electronica, post-rock, alternative, and folk all blended into a finely tuned work. They are well known for decorating their live sets with illuminated art fixtures. YOMOYA is a band that takes art very [...]

eShop Cart

0.