Shelly Manne - Daktari (180g 1LP Edition, Reissue)

Country: E.U.
Label: Music On Vinyl
Released: 26 May 2017
Genre: Jazz / Stage & Screen / Soundtrack / Folk
Order MOVLP1839

Shipping Rate: E


* 180g 1LP Edition, Reissue

Description (English):
Cut in the birth pangs of electric fusion and afro-funk, West Coast drummer Shelly Manne’s brilliant score for the popular ’60’s TV series Daktari still stands as a global fusion landmark.

Daktari is an album by drummer Shelly Manne recorded in 1967 featuring music from Daktari. The heavy use of the marimba with various percussion instruments serves the score well and makes it a huge success.

On the album, Mike Wofford plays a tack piano to evoke an African sound, and Manne is joined by percussionists Emil Richards, Larry Bunker, Frank Carlson, and Victor Feldman. According to the record liner notes, Manne and fellow percussionists play ankle and wrist jingles, Thai mouth organs, angklungs, ocarinas, vibraphones, tympani, and different kinds of marimbas.

Steely Dan guitarist Walter Becker was a fan of the album’s ‘vaguely African’ music, sounding like it came from “Hollywood session players” rather than actual Africans. In the late 1990s, Becker modelled a percussion sequence after this style on the song “Two Against Nature” released on the Steely Dan album of the same name.

Side A
1. Daktari
2. Out On A Limb
3. Clarence
4. Africa
5. Stay With Me
6. Elephantime
Side B
1. Wameru
2. Toto
3. Galloping Giraffes
4. Judy Judy
5. Ivan
6. Rhino Trot

See also...

Piero Piccioni - Musica Amore (180g 1LP Limited Edition, Reissue)

* 180g 1LP Limited Edition, Reissue
* Limited to 400 copies
Description (English):
“Musica amore” is an extraordinary album (1972) by Maestro Piccioni which includes songs from various soundtracks showing his many facets. He utilizes the gorgeous voice of Shawn Robinson in “Right Or Wrong” and “Once and Again” (from giallo thriller “…Dopo di che, uccide il maschio [...]

Steve Noble Kristoffer Berre Alberts - Coldest Second Yesterday (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
Here’s one more episode of the British / Scandinavian connection established in the domains of improvised music. And sure it’s a special one, reuniting a second generation figure of the 50 year old London scene, drummer Steve Noble, and one of the top saxophonists coming from the Trondheim’ creative jazz crib, Kristoffer [...]

Various - More Better Days: Funky & Mellow (Japanese 1LP Edition, Reissue, Remastered)

* Japanese 1LP Edition, Reissue, Remastered
Review (English):
The Japanese DJ/producer Chee Shimizu curates a two-volume selection of obscure Japanese pop that runs the gamut from jazz fusion to New Age and prog rock.
It looks as if Japanese music from the 1980s is finally garnering more attention in the west. The closest parallel to this moment might [...]

eShop Cart

0.