Various - Pura Vida Presents: Beach Diggin’ Volume 4 (2LP Gatefold Edition)

Country: France
Label: Heavenly Sweetness / Beach Diggin'
Released: 2 Sep 2016
Genre: Jazz / Funk / Soul / World / Latin / Reggae
Order HS154VL

Shipping Rate: E


* 2LP Gatefold Edition
* Download Code Included

Description (English):
Guts & Mambo were lying on their loungers watching the sun dip into the sea one early evening when they suddenly remembered that they had to make a follow-up to their Beach Diggin’ selection.

So did they jump out of their deckchairs? Not really, because this pair of diggers are constantly scouring the shelves, sniffing out rare vinyl and digging up unlikely grooves, flushing out tracks that are too shy to strut their stuff and would rather hide away in the middle of a B-side of a 33 rpm of dubious value.

Starting out with a mass of tracks, the two buddies slimmed them down and refined them over months of listening and selecting to make sure they didn’t just come up with a pale copy of the first compilation, or an obvious sequel. Although the Caribbean and Latino waves did wash up some splendid shells with a pearly tinge of soul, a shimmer of reggae, a marbling of jazz, bossa or funk, Guts & Mambo sometimes had to swap their flip-flops for their hiking boots and strike out far from their sandy shores. Yet even if they were produced in regions where the beach and the ocean are just a distant rumour, the singles they brought back from Missouri, England or the Venetian hinterland have much in common with their comrades on the playlist: they make people want to let their hair down and dance, live life to the full or embrace each other on lazy days when the mercury is nudging the top of the thermometer. The sun is still there, but it’s not going to burn those reckless enough to brave its rays. It’s hot here, but it’s bearable, desirable even.

It’s World Cup year in Brazil, the Holy Land of Beach Diggin’, and this second volume contains some high-volume good sunny vibes to be sipped through a straw while you admire the scenery and forget all about your watch, your troubles and your duties. Beach Diggin’ is a state of mind…

A1 –Boris Gardiner Breezin
A2 –Glen Ricks I’ve Been Waiting For You
A3 –Serginho Meriti Bon Momentos
A4 –Sue Barker Love To The People
B1 –Shoody Tokyo Melody
B2 –Taxi Pode Chorar
B3 –Alec Khaoli Crosslines
C1 –Bebeto Neguinhio Poeta
C2 –Brooksi This Love
C3 –Noriko Miyamoto With Isao Suzuki My Life
D1 –Jèmââ Bob Marley
D2 –Denny King Chiquito
D3 –O.R.E.A Desintegration
D4 –Black Sugar All Your Love

Also by Various

See also...

Sokabe Keiichi 曽我部恵一 Pink Band - SPRING FEVER – live at SENDAI 2011.5.13 (Limited Edition CD)

* Japanese Limited Digipack Package
Bio (English):
Sokabe Keiichi is a singer-songwriter from Kagawaken, Japan. Now a solo artist he was previously lead singer and guitarist for Japanese 90s indie group 「サニーデイ・サービス」 ‘Sunny Day Service’. As well as releasing his own records, Sokabe runs Rose Records, a Japan based Independent record label.
Sokabe began Sunny Day Service whilst [...]

sione aka 湯川潮音 - ode (Japanese CD Edition)

* Japanese CD Edition
Description (Japanese):
が2017年4月15日 Virgin Babylon Recordsよりリリース決定!
アルバム全12曲がworld’s end girlfriendアレンジ/プロデュースにより制作され、
アルバムタイトル『ode (オード)』とは、
頌(しよう)、 賦(ふ)、 《特殊の主題でしばしば特定の人や物に寄せる叙情詩》.
01 Birds
02 Wealth of Flowers
03 Nocturne
04 ivy
05 The Seeker
06 Plein Soleil
07 Golden Age
08 The Hole in Your Heart
09 Harvest
10 I saw you one time
11 Kemono
12 Coda

The T.V. Dinners - 哀愁の街に灰が降る (Limited 7″ Vinyl, Numbered)

* Japanese 7″ Edition
* Limited to 500 copies
Description (Japanese):
2000年から2002年に掛けて約2年間という短期間ながら当時体感した多くのエモ~ハードコアユーザーを魅了した愛知県のTHE T.V. DINNERSの待望の再結成単独音源。一度の解散を第一期とするならはこの再結成後の第二期の渋みと燻し銀の佇まいと楽曲はメンバー各々の様々な経験の蓄積の開放と再構築を見事に音源で具象化している。まるでBRAIDとFUGAZIとジャパニーズパンクスピリッツをマッシュアップしたような音楽それが第二期THE T.V. DINNERSの真骨頂。
ブラック / クリアレッドの盤面2色展開。
side-A. 哀愁の街に灰が降る
side-B1. Raw
side-B2. この感じ
THE T.V. DINNERS / 哀愁の街に灰が降る by stiffslack

eShop Cart

0.