Keiji Haino 灰野敬二 - Watashi Dake? (1LP Limited Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered)

Country: U.S.
Label: Black Editions
Released: 16 June 2017
Genre: Rock / Noise / Avant-Garde / Experimental / Japanese-Underground
Order BE000LP

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered
* Download Code Included
* First vinyl edition of Keiji Haino’s stunning debut album since 1981, first ever outside of Japan
* First ever edition to feature artist’s originally intended metallic gold and silver jacket artwork
* Produced in close cooperation with Keiji Haino and legendary photographer Gin Satoh
* Housed in custom printed deluxe Stoughton tip-on jackets, including black on black inserts, extras, and hand colored finishes
* Meticulously remastered by Elysian Masters and cut by Bernie Grundman Mastering. Pressed to high quality vinyl at RTI

Description (English):
Originally released in 1981. Reissue is pressed to high quality vinyl and housed in specially printed heavy Stoughton tip-on jackets with matte metallic gold and silver covers and black paper inserts. Includes a digital download code for the album with an extended bonus live track from the era.

Over the last fifty years few musicians or performers have created as monumental and uncompromising a body of work as that of Keiji Haino. Through a vast number of recordings and performances Haino has staked out a ground all his own creating a language of unparalleled intensity that defies any simple classification. For all this, his 1981 debut album Watashi Dake? has remained enigmatic. Originally released in a small edition by the legendary Pinakotheca label, the album was heard by only a select few in Japan and far fewer overseas. Original vinyl copies became impossibly rare and highly sought after the world over.

Watashi Dake? presents a haunting vision – stark vocals, whispered and screamed, punctuate dark si-
lences. Intricate and sharp guitar figures interweave, repeat and stretch, trance-like, emerging from dark recesses. Written and composed on the spot – Haino’s vision is one of deep spiritual depths that distantly evokes 1920’s blues and medieval music- yet is unlike anything ever committed to record before or since. Coupled with starkly minimal packaging featuring the now iconic cover photographs by legendary photographer Gin Satoh, the album is a startling and fully realized artistic statement.

A1 My Refuge 5:24
A2 The Disallowed 5:39
A3 Rise From The Dead 3:05
A4 Lay It Open 2:48
A5 Bring To An End 2:37
A6 I Can’t Do It Properly 3:04
B1 More More More 2:00
B2 Even If I Break Through 4:15
B3 Falling Apart 4:23
B4 Try To Come This Far 3:51
B5 Though I Want To Laugh 4:21
B6 I Want To Return 2:54

Also by Keiji Haino 灰野敬二

See also...

Hauschka - The Prepared Piano +2 (1LP 10th Anniversary Edition, Bonus)

* Includes A Free Download Voucher Plus Two Bonus Tracks
Description (English):
Like a child? A masterpiece of crafts, the so called hammer-string-mechanics of the grand piano, makes a little hammer strike a tightened string. Its length, perimeter and tension have been designed with expert precision, they determine its very particular pitch. The well-constructed body of [...]

Valgeir Sigurðsson - Architecture Of Loss

* Digipack CD
* Artwork & design by Ivan Khmelevsky
* Portrait photography by Thomas Humery
Description (English):
A fellow journalist once told me that a good question to ask Michael Gira of Swans would be: “At what point does noise become music, and vice versa?”. It seems that the various residents of Iceland’s Bedroom Community, run by [...]

Haruka Nakamura - CURTAIN CALL (12″ Limited Vinyl + CD Edition)

* 12 inch jacket with copper foil, 12 x 12 inch insert, CD jacket
* Limited to 200 copies
Description (English):
“Mournful and yet grand is the destiny of the artist.”
Entitled “CURTAIN CALL”, the new haruka nakamura special album will be released worldwide on 20th January 2017 and for the first time on 12” LP + CD edition. [...]

eShop Cart

0.