John Cage + David Tudor + Gordon Mumma - Cage: Variations V (DVD Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Mode Records
Released: 8 July 2013
Genre: Electronic / Classical / Contemporary
Order DVDMODE258

Shipping Rate: B


* DVD Edition
* Booklet with liner notes by Gordon Mumma and Rob Haskins plus period photos.
* Variations V, NDR Studio Film
* PCM Audio: 1966 Performance of Variations V
* Interview: David Vaughan, Merce Cunningham Dance Company Archivist with Dancers

Description (English):
This is the first commerical release of John Cage’s Variations V, from the legendary studio production made by NDR German Television, Hamburg, in 1967.

It marks an early pinnacle in recorded Cage/Cunningham collaborations, and is one of the few available films of a Cunningham Dance Company performance from the 1960s.

With music for an orchestra of electronic soundproducers by John Cage performed by Cage with David Tudor and Gordon Mumma to choreography by Merce Cunningham performed by Cunningham and The Merce Cunningham Dance Company, films by Stan van der Beek, and Robert Moog and technicians from Bell Laboratories developing the unique electronic “antennae” which trigger sounds as the dancers move about them — Variations V is an interactive multi-media event.

Two revealing, recently recorded interviews conducted by The Merce Cunningham Dance Company’s archivist David Vaughan with some of the dancers from the 1960s production: Carolyn Brown (founding member/dancer of The Merce Cunningham Dance Company), and Sandra Neels with Gus Solomons. The dancers reminisce over working with Cage and Cunningham, what touring was like at that time, the actual television shoot, etc.

Complete, restored, audio recording of the Paris 1966 performance (in stereo, no video).

total: 157:00

Also by John Cage

See also...

Various Spangle call Lilli line Takagi Masakatsu 高木正勝 - Clear Cut 200 (NEW WORK FELICITY 2008- 2014) Compiled by Hideki Kaji 加地 秀基

* Japanese CD Edition.
Description (English):
Description (Japanese):
高木正勝、やけのはら、カジヒデキが選曲したfelicity 通算200タイトル記念レーベル・コンピ3枚同時発売!
This is the way, step inside.
2002年日韓W杯の年にキックオフしたフェリシティ レーベル。
cap-200はホームを移した 2008年からブラジルW杯2014年までの作品群から選曲した三種類のコンピレーション アルバム。
また、200枚目記念をお祝いして、この三人による異ジャンルがクロスオーバーする豪華コラボ楽曲(ネオアコ ピアノ ラップ)が収録されているのも要注目。
1. SLIDER / Salon Music
2. TEENS / カジヒデキとリディムサウンター
3. Check My Heart / The Pastels
4. 瞬間 / 王舟
5. カフェ・オレ/ 前野健太
6. もう恋しちゃう! / カジヒデキとリディムサウンター
7. 夏の約束 / 渡辺俊美
8. daydreamer / Spangle call Lilli line
9. Good bye Girlfriend / Analogfish
10. RELAXIN’ / やけのはら
11. ミニスカート [...]

Go Hiyama - I Am Goodbye (1LP Edition)

* 1LP Edition
Description (English):
After a prolific career releasing on platforms such as Audio Assault, Token, PercTrax, Stroboscopic Artefacts and the HueHelix imprint Go Hiyama is back with an astounding piece of work that dictates its own path.
‘I Am Goodbye’ graces us with wondrous sound-design and drum patterns that are just as menacing as they are [...]

Colleen - A Flame My Love, A Frequency (1LP Limited Colored Edition)

* 1LP Limited Colored Edition
Description (English):
French artist Colleen is fearless in her willingness to explore new sounds and new ways of creating music as a solo performer. On her new album A flame my love, a frequency she introduces the most drastic change to her music since she began singing on her fourth album. A [...]

eShop Cart

0.