Penguin Cafe - The Imperfect Sea (1LP Limited Colored Edition, Indie Record Store Exclusive)

Country: U.K.
Label: Erased Tapes Records
Released: 5 May 2017
Genre: Electronic / Contemporary / Instrumental / Jazz
Order ERATP097LE

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Limited Colored Edition, Indie Record Store Exclusive
* clear vinyl, limited to 1000 copies
* Download Code Included

Description (English):
The iconic Penguin Cafe join the Erased Tapes family and open a brand new chapter to their unique world with new album The Imperfect Sea – out on Erased Tapes 5th May 2017.

A penguin stands in the middle of a scorching desert, far away from its natural habitat. This mirrors composer Arthur Jeffes’ journey and exploration into a new musical territory. Penguin Cafe have evolved into something of their own at the hands of Arthur who started the band in 2009 with the continuation and homage to his father’s legacy, to the late Simon Jeffes’ Penguin Cafe Orchestra. Now, their upcoming album echoes reminiscent sounds that embrace the new.

The album title refers to a saying by his father that “we wade in a sea of imperfections…”, reflecting upon the idea that beauty can be found amongst the chaos. “If there is a narrative to the album it’s coming to the acceptance of the imperfections in all aspects of life; moreover, the recognition that these imperfections and tiny randomnesses are in fact what make up the best parts”, Arthur explains. This has also been highlighted by the striking cover artwork designed by FELD under the art direction of label founder Robert Raths, resembling a lone figure adapting to and accepting its surrounding environment.

Predominantly self-composed, the new album also features covers of electronic works by Simian Mobile Disco and Kraftwerk, along with a re-working of Simon’s ‘Now Nothing’. Arthur has developed from the traditional folk and jazz heritage Penguin Cafe Orchestra is known for into another realm of blissful ambience and dance music, recreated using strictly acoustic elements.

“For this album I wanted to effect a departure from where we’d been up to now. The idea was to create a musical world that would feel familiar to an audience more used to dance records but stay true to our own values. So we replaced electronic layers with real instruments: pads with real string sections, synths with heavily-effected pianos, and atmospheric analogue drones with real feedback loops ringing through a stone and a piano soundboard.”

2. Cantorum
3.Control 1 (Interlude)
4.Franz Schubert
5.Half Certainty
8.Now Nothing (Rock Music)
9.Wheels within Wheels

Also by Penguin Cafe

See also...

Nico - Live In Tokyo 1986 (1LP Limited Colored Edition, RSD2017 Exclusive, Numbered, Reissue)

* 1LP Limited Colored Edition, RSD2017 Exclusive, Numbered, Reissue
* Record Store Day reissue of 500 hand numbered copies.
* strictly 1 per customer. any remaining stock will be made available online on 29th april.
Description (English):
The live album from Nico recorded in Tokyo in 1986, featuring a backing band that includes synthesizer, conga drums, and more, this [...]

Various - Soul Slabs Volume 1 (2LP Gatefold Limited Colored Edition, RSD2017 Exclusive)

* Red vinyl limited to 2000 copies worldwide
* Compilation of 22 tracks from the Colemine 7-inch catalog, many only previously available on 45s
* Represents 22 different artists from the Colemine’s stable from
* Includes download card
* this is a record store day 2017 release. stock will be available in store on first come first served basis
* [...]

Hideki Kaji 加地 秀基 - MUSCAT E.P. (7″ Vinyl Edition, RSD2017 限定盤)

* 7″ Vinyl Edition, RSD2017 限定盤
* 1 copy per person
* available at store on 22th April, remain copy will be going on webshop after 22th April
Description (Japanese):
昨年夏よりソロ・デビュー20周年を迎えているカジヒデキ!その節目に迎えるRecord Store Day 2017は初期の名曲を収めた7インチを2タイトル同時リリース!
B面”Muscat”は、広末涼子を起用したNTTドコモのポケベルCMで使用されて一世を風靡した、渋谷系ムーブメントを象徴する楽曲のひとつ。軽快なホーン・セクション、グルーヴィーなハモンドに、タンバリンも弾む青春ギターポップ・チューンです!A面”Siesta”は、モッド・マナーで駆け抜ける甘口サイケデリック・ポップ・チューンとなっており、こちらも当時MV制作された負けず劣らずの人気曲です。両面ともに初アナログ化。バック・バンドは、ギターをASH、オルガンに堀江博久、ドラムにYoshie、ホーン・セクションはWack Wack Rhythm Bandから伏見仁志、國見智子が務めています。
A. SIESTA – 君のハートのナチュラル
B. MUSCAT – マスカット / サマー・タイム・ライド

eShop Cart

0.