Booka Shade - Galvany Street (1LP Edition)

Country: Germany
Label: Blaufield Music
Released: 7 April 2017
Genre: Electronic / Downtempo / Tech House / Electro
Order BFMB033LP

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Edition

Description (English):
Long before Booka Shade became one of the most successful international dance music acts of the last 10 years, Arno Kammermeier & Walter Merziger formed a new wave pop band in the early 90s, signed a record deal in 1992 and released 2 albums under the name Planet Claire.

GALVANY STREET marks the return to their pop roots in collaboration with former Archive singer Craig Walker and a few additional guests like Urdur (GusGus), Australian Yates and Daniel Spencer from London.

„As a singer it’s a real pleasure to work with Booka Shade as the music they presented to me was so rich and full of melody. The rhythms and melody are always top level and make the job of writing toplines and lyrics a very enjoyable one. I really love the combination of all our influences – 80’s synth pop, 90’s Manchester and right up to more current stuff like The Weeknd – it’s all in there and it makes for a very interesting sound.“ (Craig Walker)

Mark Plati, known for his production and mixing with David Bowie, The Cure, Prince and many others worked on „Digging A Hole“, „Eyes Open“ and „All Falls Down“. Fritz Hilpert, known for his works with Kraftwerk, also got involved with the final mix for „All Falls Down“.

If you think you know exactly what to expect from Booka Shade, GALVANY STREET will prove you wrong.

“We´re very proud to have reached a lot with instrumental music. With MOVEMENTS 10 we closed a chapter last year. 2017 is the perfect time for a new start and to mix things up.” (Walter Merziger)

You might find the occasional up-tempo beat here and there but hardly any references to any Booka Shade music of the past. Last year´s MOVEMENTS 10, the 10 years anniversary of their milestone album, was the ultimate closure of a chapter, in which everything had been said and done in the realms of a trademark tech house & electro house sound, the project had invented and made popular across the globe.

One of the strongest points of GALVANY STREET is the fact, that many of these songs instantly create a feeling of familiarity, grab you, build an emotional connection and feel like songs that have been with you for years. At the same time the album sounds extremely fresh and 2017.

„GALVANY STREET is the album we wanted to write for a long time. The collaboration with Craig Walker brings in the perfect kind of vocals to complete the music.” (Arno Kammermeier)

A1 Digging A Hole
A2 Numb The Pain
A3 Magnolia
A4 Broken Skin
A5 Peak
B1 Babylon
B2 Eyes Open
B3 Loneliest Boy
B4 All Falls Down
B5 All Of This & Nothing

Also by Booka Shade

See also...

Sigur Rós - Kveikur (2LP Gatefold Edition)

* 2LP in gatefold package with mp3 download card.
Description (English):
Kveikur is the band’s first release on XL Recordings worldwide. The record, which was self-produced by the three members of Sigur Rós: Jón Þór Birgisson, Georg Holm and Orri Páll Dýrason, sees the band shifting towards a more direct, aggressive sound.
A1. Brennisteinn
A2. Hrafntinna
B1. Ísjaki
B2. Yfirborð
C1. Stormur
C2. [...]

鶴岡龍とマグネティックス - LUVRAW (Japanese 1LP Edition)

* Japanese 1LP Edition
Description (Japanese):
昨年12月に自身のレーベルIMAGECLUVから鶴岡龍とマグネティックス名義で発表され、早くもカルト的支持を集める怪作 がアナログ化です。
フィーメール・ラッパーNoppalの魅力全開なA1「されどカサノバ feat. Noppal」、歌詞もユニークかつ真摯なラヴァーズ・ロック歌謡A2″Kiminoko”、Silvettiネタのレゲエ・ディスコ・ナンバーA4「春 雨(for you)」、妖艶でエキゾチックなスピリチュアル・レゲエ・ナンバーB2「お宝島に朝が来る」、El Chicanoを彷彿とさせるモダン・ラテン歌謡のB3″Cocalero Mama”、万華鏡のように怪しくきらめくムード歌謡ポップスB4「ドレス」など、CDバージョンとは曲順を変更したニュー・エディション。
本人曰く「貴重なビンテージ機材やゴミのようなエフェクター、生楽器や最新機材、膨大なプラグインを思いつきで乱用し、所謂 サンプリングは一切せずに全て生演奏、または緻密な打ち込みを過剰に編集し録音した。」という、異様なこだわりと狂熱的フェティシズ ムが溢れ出した、どこか儚くも濃厚な魅力をもった楽曲集となっています。キーボードに有井里江子、ベースに中久木八幡太郎、サックス にArban Sachs、ギターにKASHIFら、名うての名手を迎えた洗練されたグルーヴも光る全8曲です。
A1. されどカサノバ feat. Noppal
A2. Kiminoko 視聴する
A3. されんだらぁ ~サヨナラするのはツライけど~
A4. 春雨(for you)
B1. 月落
B2. お宝島に朝が来る
B3. Cocalero Mama
B4. ドレス

Aidan Baker - Liminoid / Lifeforms (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
While Alien 8 Recordings has had the pleasure of releasing three full-length albums by AIDAN BAKER’s ambient doom project NADJA, as well as his collaborative effort FANTASMA PARASTASIE with TIM HECKER, this marks the label’s first solo release with the artist. Although Liminoid/Lifeforms is considered to be a solo effort, there are [...]

eShop Cart

0.