高田みどり Midori Takada - Through The Looking Glass (180g 2LP Gatefold Limited Edition, Reissue)

Country: Switzerland
Label: We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records / Palto Flats
Released: 31 March 2017
Genre: Electronic / Contemporary / Classical / Minimal / Experimental

Out of Stock - Please send us an email if you want to re-order


* Limited edition 2×12” LP- 500 PCS Ultra Deluxe 45rpm Audiophile Cut Edition with Gatefold “Tip On” Sleeve
* housed in heavy cardboard old Stoughton tip-on jacket (Gatefold)
* 45 rpm cut for highest possible Audiophile Sound made by Emil Berliner Studios
* sticker

Description (English):
Palto Flats & WRWTFWW Records are ecstatic to announce the highly-anticipated reissue of Japanese percussionist Midori Takada’s sought after and timeless ambient / minimal album “Through The Looking Glass”, originally released in 1983 by RCA Japan.
Considered a Holy Grail of Japanese music by many, “Through The Looking Glass” is Midori Takada’s first solo endeavor, a captivating four-song suite capturing her deep quests into traditional African and Asian percussive language and exploring contemplative ambient sounds with an admirably precise use of marimba. The result is alternatively ethereal and vibrant, always precise and mesmerizing, and makes for an atmospheric masterpiece and an unparalleled sonic and spiritual experience.
The fully licensed reissue is available as a single 33rpm LP and a limited 45rpm DLP, both cut directly from the original studio reels (AAA), at Emil Berliner (formerly the in-house recording department of renowned classical record label Deutsche Grammophon) for the 45rpm DLP, and at the equally famous Frankfurter SST Studio for the LP. It is also available in CD format for the first time. All versions come with extensive liner notes.

Bio (English):
Midori Takada is a composer, multi percussionist, and theater artist renowned in Japanese vanguard circles. She will tour Europe this year.
Midori released two solo albums: “Through The Looking Glass” and “Tree Of Life” and wrote music for Tadashi Suzuki’s theater plays. Her hypnotic, minimalist music is based in the concept of coherence between sound and the human body. She performs solo on marimba and other percussion instruments.
She debuted on the scene of Berlin Philharmonic, performing with the RIAS Symphonie-Orchester Berlin just after graduating from Tokyo University of the Arts in 1974. She continued her career with solo concerts in Japan and abroad.
In the 1980s Midori began to explore the traditional music of Asia and Africa. Her fascination resulted in joint projects with Kakraba Lobi from Ghana, Lamine Konte from Senegal, Farafina Band from Burkina Faso, and Korean musicians: zither player Chi Seong-Ja, flute player Won-Il, and saxophone player Kang Tae-Hwan. She also led Mkwaju Ensemble’s innovative percussion project and still performs with free-jazz band Ton-Klami with Kang Tae-Hwan and jazz pianist Masahiko Satoh.
In the past 20 years, Midori Takada spent more time in theaters than in concert halls – composing and performing live music for theater. She regularly works with Tadashi Suzuki and his Suzuki Company of Toga on their adaptations of “Electra” and “King Lear”.
Takada’s compositions have a remarkable way of affecting the imagination. Her minimalist, contemplative music is filled with the concept of infinity and reminds us of a moon voyage, falling stars, a journey into the ocean, or a walk in the garden. The trans melodies, initially simple, begin to loop and splinter, their rhythm breaking and thickening, slowly drawing the listener into another reality.

Every live performance Midori Takada gives is unique and prepared especially for that occasion.

1. Mr. Henri Rousseau’s Dream
2. Crossing
3. Trompe-l’œil
4. Catastrophe Σ

Also by 高田みどり Midori Takada

See also...

Hammock - The Sleepover Series, Volume One (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
“The Sleepover Series is very personal to me. I have trouble sleeping… Problems with anxiety and depression. So we made this music. We hope this music helps the listener to take the backward step. A collapse into rest… A gesture of solace.” -Marc. In 2005 Marc Byrd and Andrew Thompson composed music [...]

Vladislav Delay Quartet - Vladislav Delay Quartet (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
“There’s absolute freedom here to do what you think is right,” explains Vladislav Delay, referring to his home on Hailuoto, a speck of an island off Finland’s northern coast, in the frigid Gulf of Bothnia. “There’s no scene to bother me,” he adds, “or to remind me of the mostly negative aspects [...]

NOB - Outflow (Japanese CD Edition)

* Japanese CD Edition
Description (English):
Description (Japanese):
2008年より地元盛岡にてDJ活動をスタートしたNOBは、Umbilical Cassetteというパーティーを主催するほか、2013年からは東北最大級のレイブMountain Massiveをオーガナイズするなど、地元のクラブシーンの活性化に力を注いでいる。また、楽曲制作にも精力的に取り組んでおり、2013年にはParkより3作のデジタルEPをリリースした。彼にとって1stフルレングスとなる今作には、アルバム用に書き下ろした新曲10曲が収録されている。ダンスフロア直下型だったEPとは異なり、NOBのルーツであるレゲエやダブからの影響が反映された作品となっている。CDとデジタルフォーマットにて発売中の『Outflow』のプレビューは、現在以下のプレイヤーで試聴可能だ。
01. Prhythm
02. APEX
03. FOLK
04. Lost And Found
05. fog.
06. 1986
07. agreeable
08. T-Phat
09. Mountain

eShop Cart

0.