Greg Davis - Midpoint

Country: U.K.
Label: Home Normal
Released: 30 Oct 2009
Genre: Electronica / Drone / Ambient
Order HOMEN008

Shipping Rate: A


(Packaged in gatefold, glossy, cardboard sleeve, Limited to 500 copies.)

My first foray into Greg Davis’s work was through his excellent debut on Carpark ‘Arbour’ in the summer of 2002 I believe. As I sat with my friend who was playing it on his big stereo I was really just taken aback by how detailed, melodic and organic the work was. I became an instant fan, yet despite this was still taken aback further when I first met Greg and saw him playing live at the Bellingham Electronic Arts Festival on the first of December 2006. The show took a while to sink in as I had never really heard anything quite like it before. I guess in many ways it was an entry for me into ‘drone’ work although this term (as always) is rather disingenuous as there is so much more to Greg’s work than the dictionary definition of ‘drone’. I think it was the sheer size of the sound in the smallish area he played in. Either way, it was both enormous sounding and micro-detailed all in one.
So nearly 6 years after that show I asked Greg if he fancied releasing this as a CD as a kind of comparison to his newer live work. We ended up agreeing on his performance at Higher Ground in May of this year as it seemed like a nice comparison, yet what we got was essentially two live shows which come together seamlessly to create ‘Midpoint’. Its a whole other side to Greg’s work that many have yet to experience and perhaps in a small way we can show just how amazing Greg’s body of work is. From violin to bells, synthesizer to stomp boxes, analog to digital, it just highlights his natural ability to create improvised and amazing sound-scapes. At once minimal, slowly-evolving and rich, you’ll also find yourself entranced by rhythms and bleeps you never thought could exist within ‘drone’ works, if thats how we really must define this. This experimentation and indeed, playful side to his work, is classic Greg Davis. Its what first drew me to his work and which brings a smile to my face as I listen and try to write these pithy words. — Ian Hawgood

Cover art for ‘midpoint’ is by the very talented Liam Frankland. For more information and photography go here:

1  Bellingham, Washington – 23:32
2  Burlington, Vermont – 34:54

Also by Greg Davis

See also...

9dw (Nine Days Wonder) Boris - Golden Dance Classics

This EP is a result of a fifteen year old friendship between both bands & initiated by 9dw. “Stingray” is a cosmic disco tune laden with analog synthesizers. On “Spice”, creamy synth bass & light drums combine to make a fresh fusion sound. Boris contributed two new songs for this release. “Tokyo Wonder Land” is [...]

Ultraísta - Ultraísta

* Digipack CD
Description (English):
Formed in London in 2011, Ultraísta is a multimedia trio founded on a mutual love of Afrobeat, electronic and dance music, visual art, and tequila. Its members are vocalist/artist Laura Bettinson, and multi-instrumentalist producers Nigel Godrich and Joey Waronker (whose collective resumes read like a guide to groundbreaking and culturally influential modern [...]

Uran Okajima - A Princess Tale

曾先後參與no.9過去兩張作品的作曲,no.9 專屬樂團旗下吉他手uran okajima 的首張專輯,豐富的音樂修養讓專輯呈現纖細的感性與獨特世界觀,成就一次吉他與電音的優雅對話!
1  Frozen Princess – 7:16
2  僕と彼女と僕の部屋 – 5:23
3  バラの花、そよ風に乗って – 5:07
4  Electric Man – 8:24
5  東京タワー VS マリンタワー – 5:00
6  革命の賛美歌 – 4:39
7  Arigato – 8:58
8  Grateful Garden – 7:21
9  Earnestly Walks – 5:54
10  月と水面 – 8:11
11  冬の空 – 6:21
12  An Old Story – 6:01

eShop Cart

0.