Mogwai - The Hawk Is Howling (CD+DVD Limited Edition)

Country: U.K.
Label: Wall Of Sound
Released: 22 Sep 2008
Genre: Rock / Post Rock
Order WOS040CDX

Shipping Rate: B


* CD+DVD Edition

Description (English):
“The Hawk Is Howling”, their sixth album, sees Mogwai return to a totally instrumental landscape, with many songs coming in at around the eight minute mark. A brooding and atmospheric collection, full of the band’s exceptional use of dynamics and creation of hypnotic soundscapes, “The Hawk Is Howling” is, however, partly more reflective than previous releases, perhaps sharing more in common with 2001’s “Rock Action”. Instrumentally the band have somewhat branched out, utilising light synthesizers on tracks such as “The Sun Smells Too Loud”. The album was recorded with Andy Miller at Chemikal Underground and mixed by Gareth Jones at Castle Of Doom. It’s the first time the band have recorded with Andy Miller since they worked with him on their debut “Young Team”. Artwork for the album is designed by Aidan Moffat.

1. I’m Jim Morrison I’m Dead
2. Batcat
3. Daphne And The Brain
4. Local Authority
5. Sun Smells Too Loud
6. Kings Meadow
7. I Love You I’m Going To Blow Up Your School
8. Scotland’s Shame
9. Thank You Space Expert
10. Precipice

DVD-1 Adelia, I Want To Love24:59
DVD-1a Scotland’s Shame
DVD-1b Kings Meadow
DVD-1c I Love You, I’m Going To Blow Up Your School
DVD-1d The Precipice
DVD-1e Thank You Space Expert
DVD-1f I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead
DVD-2 Batcat5:26
DVD-3 Batcat Animation5:23

Also by Mogwai

See also...

Suicide - Suicide + Live CD (2CD Edition, Reissue, Remastered)

* 2CD Edition, Reissue, Remastered
Description (English):
This remarkable debut album, released a full seven years after the group had formed, was still way ahead of its time back in 1978. Suicide–Alan Vega on vocals and Martin Rev on keyboards and drum machine–are one of the most original acts in the history of popular music. They’re often [...]

Codes In The Clouds - As The Spirit Wanes (1LP Gatefold Limited Edition)

* 1LP Gatefold Edition
* Comes with download code on inner sleeve and booklet
* Limited to 500 Copies
Description (English):
This is the highly-anticipated second studio album by Codes In The Clouds. The quintet of Ciaran Morahan, Stephen Peeling, Rob Smith, Jack Major and Joe Power hail from Dartford, England — a town not known for much besides [...]

Wilco - Schmilco (CD Edition)

* CD Edition
Description (English):
Schmilco – the 10th studio album by the Grammy-award winning Chicago rock band Wilco – features 12 new original songs via the band’s own dBpm Records.
Schmilco is set for release Sept. 9 and is described a mostly acoustic record that frontman Jeff Tweedy calls “joyously negative”.
Recorded at The Loft in Chicago, produced [...]

eShop Cart

0.