Shawn Lee's Ping Pong Orchestra - World Of Funk (2LP Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Ubiquity Records
Released: 19 Jan 2015
Genre: Rock / Blues Rock / Funk / Soul / Funk / Folk Rock
Order URLP282

Shipping Rate: E


* 2LP Edition

Descrition (English):
Lee has as an uncanny ability to pick-up and play any instrument he can lay his hands on (his studio is like a candy-store for curious musicians) and for World of Funk he went global playing sitar, ektar, Balaphone, Tanpura, kalimba, Steel drum, Guitarron, Moroccan castanets, Cithare, vibraphone, Xylophone, Bulbul tarang, Charango, Bouzouki, talking drum, and Udu.

Adding to Lees melting pot of sounds are guests from around the world. Brazilian singer-multi instrumentalist Curumin (Hailing from Sao Paulo, and of Japanese/Spanish Brazilian background) and British/Egyptian singer Natacha Atlas completely embody the spirit of World of Funk. While on-tour in Los Angeles this Summer Lee locked down three very special collaborations. The first was with Chhom Nimol the LA based Cambodian singer with the band Dengue Fever. Lee made an instrumental track with Clutchy Hopkins (which includes the sound of a 1960’s Smith and Corona typewriter!) for Dengue Fever member Paul Smith who recorded Chhoms haunting vocal. A chance meeting with Bardo of Chicano Batman on Sunset Boulevard led to some garage-y flavored West Coast Latino-funk. And then both Willie McNeal and Money Mark suggested Lee work with Cava.

The album also features Truth and Soul Recording artist Michael Leonhart, NOMO bandleader Elliot Bergman, and Lee’s mother-in-law (aka Nanny Jee)!

A1 Bina – 3:30
A2 Ghost In The Rain – 4:02
A3 Ethio – 3:48
B1 Cairo Cairo – 4:01
B2 Nao Vacila – 4:02
B3 La Eterna Felicidad – 3:24
C1 Nanny Jee – 4:18
C2 Iceberg – 4:36
C3 Booya – 3:54
C4 The Mighty Atlas – 2:35
D1 Mi Ilusion – 4:03
D2 Accelerate – 6:05
D3 Tablacadabra – 2:41
D4 Hairy Krishner – 1:53

Also by Shawn Lee's Ping Pong Orchestra

See also...

Bob Dylan - Slow Train Coming (180g 1LP Edition, Reissue)

* 180g 1LP Edition, Reissue
Description (English):
Slow Train Coming is the 19th studio album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan. It was the artist’s first effort since becoming a born-again Christian, and all of the songs either express his strong personal faith.
The unexpected effect of his conversion to Christianity is that it gave Dylan a focus he [...]

Milton Wright - Spaced (Japanese Mini-LP Limited CD Edition, Reissue)

* Japanese Mini-LP Limited CD Edition, Reissue
Description (English):
This is the second release in our new Jazzman ‘Holy Grail’ reissue series. ’Holy Grails’ are those super-ultra rarest-of-the-rare albums that everyone wants – but nobody can find! We aim to find and re-release these desirable and coveted soul, funk & jazz LPs on CD and limited edition [...]

Odell Brown - I Love Every Little Thing About You (Japanese Mini-LP cardboard CD Edition, Reissue)

* Japanese Mini-LP cardboard sleeve CD Edition
Description (English):
A wonderful album by Odell Brown – recorded years after he broke up with his Organizers group, with a sweet electric groove that’s very different than his Chess LPs – and also quite a bit different from other records on Paula in the mid 70s! Odell’s playing electric [...]

eShop Cart

0.