Frank Bretschneider - Super.Trigger (CD Edition)

Country: Germany
Label: Raster-Noton
Released: 27 June 2013
Genre: Electronic / Glitch / IDM / Abstract / Minimal

Out of Stock - Please send us an email if you want to re-order


* CD Edition

Descrition (English):
»super.trigger« is an absolute trove of percussive tensions and frequency driven finesse and deals mainly with the basic principles of any modern music: rhythm.

frank bretschneider takes his, never simple, but all the more heartfelt relationship to rhythm and its complexity, to an intense inventory and, this time, works less out of suspenseful abstract sounds, than out of grooves. there is a real sense of perpetual evolution and coiled tightness to the pulsating rhythmic programming, while the subtle sheets of noise that fill the void behind the beats compete against the rhythm and their own sonic purity for a higher state of energy — a constant flux of tension and release.

»super.trigger« comes again in bretschneider’s signature style of ultra-clean bleeps and bouncing machine beats with terseness and precision, and a preference for high-voltage sounds halfway between noise and tone.

the combination of programming, composition and construction is connected with his very idiosyncratic aesthetic of digital sound: controlled and objective. the whole follows simple mechanical states — on/off, up/down, soft/hard, slow/fast, loud/quiet — and is characterized by the absence of any romanticism. still this return to the elementary, the fundamental, does not diminish the music to dance-floor functionality, instead bretschneider always stays emphatically musical and manages to generate sophisticated and complex rhythm-structures, which respectively induce minimal deviations in frequency and timing relationships to generate a surplus of funk.

1 Big.Hopes – 2:35
2 Flicker.Funk – 5:00
3 Machine.Gun – 5:11
4 Pink.Thrill – 5:41
5 Super.Trigger – 4:18
6 Over.Load – 4:27
7 Day.Dream – 6:15
8 Black.Out – 5:18
9 Mean.Streak – 4:57

Also by Frank Bretschneider

See also...

Various - I Am The Center: Private Issue New Age Music In America, 1950-1990 (2CD Edition, Remastered)

* 2CD Edition, Remastered
Description (English):
“Sound created the universe. It wasn’t a word. Sound created atoms; sound and light are the original manifesting principles for worlds… A musician sources that primeval, eternal sound, and it comes out as music.” – Constance Demby
Forget everything you know, or think you know, about new age, a genre that has [...]

John Cage - Early Electronic And Tape Music (1LP Edition, Limited, Repress)

* LP 4th pressing on black vinyl
* Comments on the pieces are from the scores and the Edition Peters catalogue (1962) of Cage’s works.
Description (English):
Although John Cage occasionally worked in large, sophisticated studios – for example, when he composed Fontana Mix in 1958 – his approach to electronic and tape music was often uncomplicated, makeshift, [...]

Suicide - A Way Of Life + Live CD (2CD Edition, Reissue, Remastered)

* 2CD Edition, Reissue, Remastered
Description (English):
Mute/Blast First continue their critically acclaimed reissues of the legendary Suicide’s groundbreaking back catalogue with the re-release of their seminal third & fourth albums; A Way Of Life & Why Be Blue? (originally released in 1988 & 1992, respectively). Each CD is coupled with a second disc, featuring two previously [...]

eShop Cart

0.