Various - Eccentric Soul: The Forte Label (2LP Gatefold Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Numero Group / Eccentric Soul
Released: 27 Aug 2013
Genre: Funk / Soul / Funk / Soul
Order Numero 047

Shipping Rate: E


* 2LP Gatefold Edition

Description (English):
In 1969, after three years as Soul Sister #1 to James Brown’s touring entourage, Marva Whitney came home to Kansas City, putting Ellis Taylor’s Forte label back at full fighting strength. She’d calmed aching crowds the day after MLK’s death, and she’d lived the life, despite its rigors—to pour out her pain and exuberance on Forte sides including “I’ve Lived The Life” and “Daddy Don’t Know About Sugar Bear,” which made national rounds in 1972.

By then, Forte had already done more than deliver Marvelous Marva to market. Taylor worked overtime at KPRS to bring the world The Rayons, who’d stroll their girl group harmonies past Chicago’s RCA studios on “Baby Be Good.” In ’68, The Four Darlings sauntered in with smoky-voiced soul operatics on the demanding “Give Me Love.” Progressing in the middle ’70s, Everyday People got “Super Black” on Forte’s pine-green label. Still powering forward some 13 years on, Forte redawned with the 1980s, essaying disco funk with Sharon Revoal’s “Reaching for Our Star.”

Numero 047 Eccentric Soul: The Forte Label charts Kansas City yeoman’s work, the Carpets and the Derbys, dapper clothiers mysteriously murdered, and marriages made and broken. In 28 LP tracks or 21 on CD, plus a trove of promo headshots and every-hued label scans detailing all iterations of Forte’s logo in print, this 16th Eccentric Soul sojourn hands over vivid floor shakers and lost dance craze records alike—though what moves “The Hen” required remains anyone’s guess.

A1. Gene Williams – Don’t Let Your Love Fade Away
A2. Lee Harris – I’m Gonna Get Your Thing
A3. Tear Drops – I’m Gonna Get You
A4. Louis Chachere – The Hen Part 1
A5. The Fantasticks – Cry Night And Day
A6. Marva W Taylor – I’ve Lived The Life
A7. Fabulous Rhythm Makers – Mini Mini Afro Twist
B1.Tony Ashley & the Delicates – I’ll Never Be Satisfied
B2. The Rayons – You Confuse Me Baby
B3. The Four Darlings – Baby Your Love Is Amazing
B4. Lee Harris – Lookin’ Good
B5. Marva Whitney – Daddy Don’t Know About Sugar Bear
B6: Gene Williams – Whatever You Do (Do It Good)
B7. Everyday People – Is It Really That Bad
C1. The Rayons – Baby Be Good
C2. Tony Ashley & the Delicates – All Along I’ve Loved You
C3. Lee Harris – I’ve Got To Have Somebody’s Love
C4. Everyday People – Super Black
C5. James Whitney – With Fun In My Life
C6. Sharon Revoal – Reaching For Our Star
C7. Marva W Taylor – Nothing I’d Rather Be (Than Your Weakness)
D1. Four Darlings – Give Me Love
D2. Unknown Artist – Dearest Lover
D3. Fantasticks – Live And Let Live
D4. Fabulous Rhythm Makers – Ya Gotta Be Doing It
D5. Lee Harris – Skate Boogaloo and Karate Too
D6. Tear Drops – Don’t Fade Away
D7. Marva Whitney & Ellis “Gripey” Taylor – We Need More (But Somebody Gotta Sacrifice)

Also by Various

See also...

moe and ghost - 幽霊たち (Japanese CD Edition)

* CD Edition
About (English):
Moe and ghosts is a ghost coast hip hop group from Japan.
Description (Japanese):
ラップ担当の萌とトラック担当のユージーン・カイムによるゴースト・コースト・ヒップホップ・ユニット、Moe and ghostsの1stアルバムが、佐々木敦主宰のHEADZからリリース!
Moe and ghostsは、ラップ担当の萌とトラック担当のユージーン・カイムによるユニット。萌は、大谷能生と劇作家・中野成樹によるラップ劇『長短調(または眺め身近め)』内の限定ユニット「みずうみ」に参加したほか、同じく大谷が音楽を担当した生西康典演出の舞台『Momo,Momoko,Moe et……the silence between dreams』にも出演するなど、ジャンルを越えた活動を展開している。
初のアルバムとなる『幽霊たち』には、萌のオリジナリティ溢れるラップと、ユージーン・カイムのカラフルなトラックからなる全21曲を収録。また、“スカボロー・フェア”のカバーには植野隆司(テニスコーツ)がゲスト参加しており、マスタリングはINNER SCIENCEこと西村尚美が担当している。
01. われわれ
02. ンアフターマン
04. Make you groove
05. 幽霊EXPO
06. うき
07. でんでん太鼓が鳴り止まないの
08. 脳みそクイナ
09. Scarborough Fair Live at SuperDeluxe
10. 雪が降るまえに
11. メルヘラ
12. ルー=ガルーガール
13. 潜熱
14. チカドゥン
15. 語るまでもない
16. GF-909
17. 猿人炎上
18. 氷解
19. 南極点
21. OF [...]

Spangle Call Lilli Line - SINCE2 (Japanese 2CD Edition)

* Japanese 2CD Edition.
Profile (English):
Formed in 1998. The band members are consist of three people: Kana Otsubo, Ken Fujieda and Kiyosaki Sasahara. They have released 10 albums, 2 singles, 3 live albums, and 2 best album. They have also participated in numerous compilation albums. In addition to Spangle call Lilli line, each member has been [...]

soha - structure of moment (Japanese CD Special Edition+sticker, badge)

* Japanese CD Edition
* Japanese Special Edition included Sticker(3pcs)+badge(2pcs)
Description (English):
“the structure of moment” is the 1st mini album that will released in 20th July 2016. the album Was recorded by Hiroshi Ikeda (from hmc studio) and Mixing&mastering by Takaaki Mino (from toe)
Biography (English):
soha (ex 44°+) is a math rock band formed in 2015 in Tokyo, [...]

eShop Cart

0.