The Soft Machine - Volume Two (1LP Gatefold Edition, Reissue)

Country: U.S.
Label: Sundazed Music
Released: 22 June 2010
Genre: Rock / Psychedelic-Rock / Jazz-Rock / Prog-Rock
Order LP 5342

Shipping Rate: E


* 1LP Gatefold Edition, Reissue
* Mastered from the original U.K. tapes and pressed on pristine high-definition vinyl.

Description (English):
The aptly titled Volume Two introduced a retooled Soft Machine lineup, with Wyatt and Ratledge joined by bassist Hugh Hopper, an old Canterbury friend who had guested on the first album. The sophomore disc finds the threesome moving towards a more explicitly jazz-influenced sound, with an increased emphasis on instrumental material. The album is bookended by a pair of extended compositions, “Rivmic Melodies” and “Esther’s Nose Job,” which are broken up into shorter individual tracks bearing whimsically arbitrary titles. That approach was suggested to the band by Frank Zappa, whose Mothers of Invention album Absolutely Free was reportedly an influence on Volume Two.

The first two albums by England’s legendary Soft Machine, originally released in 1968 and 1969, remain among the most innovative and influential releases of that musically fertile era. These seminal LPs offered a visionary psychedelic-progressive-jazz-rock mix that helped to make the Soft Machine one of Britain’s first significant underground bands, as well as a key force in the birth of both progressive rock and jazz-rock.

This landmark gem has been out of print for decades, but now it is back in a meticulously packaged Sundazed compact disc edition. Mastered from the original analog tapes, this lovingly restored album sounds as powerful and imaginative as ever.

A product of the same fabled Canterbury scene that spawned such beloved cult acts as Caravan and Hatfield and the North, the Soft Machine was the rare art-rock combo whose members possessed the instrumental skills to execute their ambitious musical ideas, as well as a playful sense of humor that balanced the band’s complex compositions and adventurous improvisations. By the time they began making albums, the Soft Machine was already a sensation in the budding U.K. rock underground, thanks to their now-legendary performances at such fabled London clubs as the UFO, the Speakeasy and Middle Earth, where they shared stages with the likes of Pink Floyd and Tomorrow.

1. Pataphysical Introduction – Part I
2. A Concise British Alphabet – Part I
3. Hibou, Anemone and Bear
4. A Concise British Alphabet – Part II
5. Hulloder
6. Dada Was Here
7. Thank You Pierrot Lunaire
8. Have You Ever Bean Green?
9. Pataphysical Introduction – Part II
10. Out of Tunes
11. As Long as He Lies Perfectly Still
12. Dedicated to You But You Weren’t Listening
13. Fire Engine Passing with Bells Clanging
14. Pig
15. Orange Skin Food
16. A Door Opens and Closes
17. 10.30 Returns to the Bedroom

Also by The Soft Machine

See also...

Faust - The Wümme Years 1970-73 (5CD+BOOK Boxset Edition)

* 5CD+BOOK Boxset Edition
Description (English):
truly exxential! The ultimate collection from the legendary inventors of krautrock. This 5 CD set contains ALL Faust’s early classic albums, a John Peel session, and unreleased early material. The 40 page booklet is stuffed with unpublished photos, stills from Super 8 footage from the famous studio at Wumme, and revealing [...]

Fuchsia - Fuchsia (180g 1LP Limited Colored Edition, Reissue)

* 180g 1LP Limited Colored Edition, Reissue, Unofficial Release
* B4 – B6 are bonus tracks to this vinyl reissue
Description (English):
Fuchsia’s 1971 LP is a lost gem of experimental British progressive rock. Fuchsia was formed by lead singer and guitarist Tony Durant during his days at Exeter University. Wanting to write songs outside of the standard [...]

June Miller - I couldn’t be with you even if I wanted +2 (Japanese Edition)

* Digipack CD
* Two Bonus Tracks
Description (English):
OuZeL is proud to announce the first full-length album of June Miller – “I couldn’t be with you even if I wanted”, produced by Chris Crisci of The Appleseed Cast, and presented in a gorgeous digipack designed by Legno (Jacopo of Fine Before You Came).
Description (Japanese):
アイ・クドゥント・ビー・ウィズ・ユー・イーヴン・イフ・アイ・ウォンテッド/ ジューン・ミラー
イタリアで活勒するポストロックの新星、ジューン・ミラーの1stアルバム。プロデューサーにChris Crisci(The Appleseed [...]

eShop Cart

0.