Larry Nozero + Dennis Tini - Time (CD Edition, Remastered)

Country: U.S.
Label: 180 Proof Records / Strata Records, Inc.
Released: 25 June 2013
Genre: Jazz
Order OEP1003

Shipping Rate: A


* High-Quality Digipack CD
* Fully Digitally Re-mastered – Previously Unreleased
* Comprehensive Liner Notes

Description (English):
Following on the heels of Kenny Cox’s previously unreleased Clap Clap! The Joyful Noise, 180 Proof Records continues to bring new life to the Strata Inc. Catalog with Larry Nozero’s 1975 passion project, Time. The last album to be released on Strata Inc., Time is a dream- like mix of mood, an album full of range, tempo, and feeling; from the impulsive and airy rendition of the jazz standard “All the Things you Are” to the brooding melancholia of “Tony,” Nozero’s Time is destined to become known among aficionados as a classic of 1970s jazz. Like time itself, each song is open to individual interpretation – something Nozero himself confessed to on the album’s original liner notes, saying “It got so deep that we decided to call the group and our album after that concept of TIME, because it seemed to mean something to just about everyone.”

A native of Detroit, Nozero spent time in Charles Moore’s Detroit Contemporary 5 (part of Strata Inc.) before being drafted into the military. While enlisted, Nozero capitalized on his time by honing his craft in the Army Band. By the time he returned to Detroit, Nozero had little trouble landing high-profile gigs. No stranger to success, Nozero’s previous credits and collaborators include Henry Mancini, Sergio Mendes, and playing Soprano sax on Marvin Gaye’s iconic 1971 album, What’s Going On.

Working with his cousin and collaborator Dennis Tini, Time is unlike many albums of the era in that it truly feels like a work fueled by freewheeling expressionism. The pieces are funky, soulful, strange and soothing all at once. Tini’s stand-out contribution to the album is “Tune for L.N.”, a funk-fueled piece of rhythm-centric jazz. A distinguishing feature of the album is the use of wordless vocalise. The scat work on part two of “Chronicle Of The Murdered House” adds a distinct counterpoint to Nozero’s reedwork, while the high pitch bebop of “Baubles, Bangles and Beads” closes out the album with a carefree and buoyant groove.

1. Reflections Of My Past
2. Tony
3. Chronicle Of The Murdered House
4. Tune For L.N.
5. Impressions Of My Lady
6. All The Things You Are
7. Two Worlds
8. Baubles, Bangles & Beads

See also...

Red Square - Rare And Lost 70s Recordings (1LP Edition, Remastered)

* 1LP Edition, Remastered
* Insert with liner notes and photos.
Description (English):
Ultra-rare recordings by 70s UK avant-rockers Red Square, the missing link between original free-noise practitioners like AMM, Nihilist Spasm Band and Peter Brotzmann and post-No Wavers ala the Blue Humans, Borbetomagus, Fushitsusha, and the Dead C.
Named after the early Soviets Constructivists, Red Square is [...]

カフカ鼾 Kafka’s Ibiki - nemutte (Japanese CD Edition) – Pre-Order

* Japanese CD Edition
* Please note: items labeled as ‘Pre-Order’, can be purchased but will be shipped to arrive on the official release date. Orders containing Pre-Order items will be held until all products are available for dispatch.
Description (Japanese):
世界を股にかけて活躍する3人がメイン・プロジェクトとしているのがこの『カフカ鼾(いびき)』。ジム・オルーク(Jim O’Rourke)は、昨年、じつに13年半ぶりとなるヴォーカル・アルバム「Simple
Songs」をリリースし、海外のメディアでも年間べストに選ばれるなど、日本を拠点として世界中に衝撃を与えました。石橋英子は、Merzbowとのユニット「公園兄弟」で世界有数の電子音楽レーベルEditions Megoデビューを果たし、さらには星野源、坂本慎太郎の作品・ライブ参加や、映画音楽を手掛けるなど活動の幅を広げています。そして山本達久は、各国のアーティストたちとの即興演奏を始め、劇団マームとジプシーの音楽担当やUAの作品・ライブ参加など、多岐に渡って活躍する日本を代表するドラマーとして、重要な役割を担っています。
1 nemutte

石川 晶 Akira Ishikawa Count Buffalo Jazz and Rock Band - Bakinshinba: Memories Of Africa (Japanese 1LP Gatefold Edition, Reissue)

* Japanese 1LP Gatefold Edition, Reissue
Description (English):
2016 LIMITED EDITION REISSUE of this RARE masterpiece by Akira Ishikawa & Count Buffalo Band.
A1 Sandstorm
A2 Sunrise
A3 Flamingo
A4 African Deer
B1 Bakishinba
B2 Mirage
B3 Blue Soul

eShop Cart

0.