Nujabes + Toru Hashimoto 橋下 徹 + Various - Free Soul Nujabes ~ Second Collection (Japanese CD Edition)

Country: Japan
Label: Hyde Out Recordings / Free Soul 20th Anniversary
Released: 17 Dec 2014
Genre: Hip Hop / Jazzy Hip-Hop / Electronica / Instrumental / Trip Hop
Order HPD17

Shipping Rate: A


* Released in Digipak.

Description (English):
Here is the second edition of Free Soul Nujabes, Compiled by Toru Hashimoto for Suburbia Factory.

Biography (English):
Jun Seba (瀬葉淳) (February 7, 1974-February 26, 2010) was a Japanese hip-hop music producer who recorded under the name Nujabes (new-jah-behz; which is simply his real name spelled backwards). His music is known for a strong cool jazz influence, frequently using samples from artists like Miles Davis and Yusef Lateef.
He was also an owner of “tribe”, a record store in Shibuya, Tokyo, and led indie record label Hyde-Out Productions. He released two albums in Japan, Metaphorical Music in 2003 and Modal Soul in 2005. He was also a member of the production duo Urbanforest, an experimental collaboration with Nao Tokui (appearing on the Lady Brown 12”).
In addition to Japanese artists like Shing02 and MINMI, he has collaborated with underground American hip-hop acts CYNE, Apani B-Fly, Five Deez, Substantial, Fat Jon and British rapper Funky DL.
He has also contributed music to the soundtrack of Samurai Champloo, an anime which blends a setting in feudal Japan with modern anachronisms, especially hip-hop music.
On March 17, 2010, it was announced on the Hyde-Out Productions website that Jun passed away on February 26, 2010 at the age of 36 after being involved in a serious car accident on the Tokyo Metropolitan Expressway. He was promptly transported to the hospital, where attempts to revive him were unsuccessful. An English announcement was made on March 18 by friend and collaborator Shing02 on the Empire22 website. –

Description (Japanese):
Nujabes 主宰Hydeout Productions のすべての音源から選び抜かれた決定版コンピレイション!永遠に生き続ける美しい作品群を、橋本徹(SUBURBIA) がFree Soul 20周年(2014年時)を機にコンパイル

1. Another Reflection / Nujabes
2. Music Is Ours (Saxmental Version) / Calm
3. One Dream / Uyama Hiroto
4. City Lights / Nujabes feat. Pase Rock & Substantial
5. Light On The Land / Nujabes
6. Sky Is Falling / Nujabes feat. C.L.Smooth
7. Thank You / Nujabes feat. Apani B
8. Reflection Eternal / Clammbon with Yamazaki, Mino & Yamane from Toe
9. Prayer / Nujabes
10. Luv (Sic.) Pt3 / Nujabes
11. Faure / haruka nakamura feat. Uyama Hiroto
12. Old Light (Voices From 93 Million Miles Away Remix) / Pase Rock
13. Waltz For Life Will Born / Uyama Hiroto
14. Waiting For The Clouds / Nujabes feat. Substantial
15. Beach Of Life / Specifics
16. Island / Nujabes feat. Uyama Hiroto & haruka nakamura
17. Soar / haruka nakamura feat. Substantial
18. No One Like You / Zack Austin

Also by Nujabes

See also...

Blank Blue (aka Nobody) - Western Water Music Volume II (2LP Edition)

* 2LP Edition
About Black Blue”
Los Angeles producer Nobody had already established himself as a mainstay in the left-field hip-hop scene by the time he decided he wanted to follow up his 2003 Ubiquity release, Pacific Drift: Western Water Music, Vol. 1, with one that featured one singer. Soon he approached Niki Randa, with whom he [...]

Jel - Late Pass (CD Edition)

* Jewel Case CD
Description (English):
Imagine Public Enemy’s Bomb Squad detonating explosives under the prog-rock grooves of German experimental behemoths Can. These ideas seem mutually exclusive, but they’re not. The evidence is in the shrapnel funk of Late Pass, the third album from Anticon co-founder Jel. As the scarred vocals of the title track instruct: Don’t [...]

J Dilla - Jay Dee a.k.a. King Dilla (1LP Edition)

* 1LP Edition
Description (English):
The mark that the late producer J Dilla left upon hip-hop during the 90s and early-to-mid 00s is undeniable. His work with De La Soul, Busta Rhymes, The Pharcyde, and of course Slum Village long been cemented his prominence in the annals of hip-hop history.
Of the many words one can use to [...]

eShop Cart

0.