Shawn Lee's Ping Pong Orchestra - Hooked Up Classics (1LP Edition)

Country: U.S.
Label: Ubiquity Records
Released: 7 Dec 2010
Genre: Funk / Soul / Funk / Classical / Hip Hop
Order URLP280

Shipping Rate: E


* Digital Download included with LP

Description (English):
Shawn Lee dons his Ping Pong Orchestra hat for an album inspired by the Hooked On Classics series of the early 1980s. This popular series of albums (arranged by Louis Clark of Electric Light Orchestra fame) took well-known classical pieces and gave them a contemporary re-working, mostly adding a disco flavor. Lee throws his new musical twist on the idea, taking 12 favorite classical tracks and squeezing them through the Ping Pong Orchestra machine.

While Lee has spent most of the year releasing and working on albums featuring vocal collaborations (the recent “Sing A Song” and upcoming “World of Funk”), this Ping Pong Orchestra album puts Lee back in library-record mode, creating cinematic instrumental music.

“The 1812 Overture” is re-interpreted with a heavy dub re-rub, while “Swan Lake” and “Peter and the Wolf” receive a dose of squelchy moog-like bass-lines, and even “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” and “Funeral March” is given a head-nodding backbeat. Lee left room for his own string-laden cover of “Also Sprach Zarathustra” (also recognizable as the 2001 Space Odyssey theme.) “These are some of the greatest themes and melodies ever written,” says Lee.

Mixing respect with cheek, and a need to funk-everything up, Lee covered tracks by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Richard Wagner, Erik Satie, Sergei Prokofiev, Richard Strauss, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Maurice Ravel, Edvard Grieg, Sergei Prokofiev, and Frederic Chopin. From big string sounds, horns, organ, dulcitone, clarinet, harmonica, melodica, bass melodian, orchestral percussion, harpsichords, flutes, sitars, guitars, and beyond, everything is played live, with no sampling. “What a pleasure to have such great material to work my musical mischief with, he adds. “I approached this project with equal amounts of respect and irreverence – this was essential to the concept.”

The end result is an album that will introduce new listeners to legendary pieces of music, and is set to turn the heads of classical music fans.

A1. 1812 Overture
A2. Swan Lake
A3. Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
A4. Ride Of The Valkyries
A5. Gymnopédie No. 1
A6. Peter And The Wolf
A7. Also Sprach Zarathustra
B1. Flight Of The Bumblebee
B2. Boléro
B3. In The Hall Of The Mountain King
B4. Romeo And Juliet
B5. Funeral March

Also by Shawn Lee's Ping Pong Orchestra

See also...

LNZNDRF - LNZNDRF (1LP Limited Colored Edition)

* 1LP Limited Colored Edition, Includes download code insert.
Description (English):
The trio of Ben Lanz, Scott Devendorf and Bryan Devendorf formed in 2011 in Auckland, New Zealand.
LNZNDRF’s debut is rock minimalism meets sonic maximalism. Recorded in a church in Cincinnati over two and a half days, the eight songs on the album were improvised with [...]

Yogee New Waves - Waves 漂流 (Japanese CD+Live DVD Limited Edition, 初回限定盤)

* Japanese CD+Live DVD Limited Edition, 初回限定盤
Biography (English):
Yogee New Waves 2nd album “WAVES”. Limited edition CD+DVD with live DVD (approx 52mix).
Description (Japanese):
2014年春「CLIMAX NIGHT e.p.」のデビュー時、シティ・ポップ・サウンドの再来と評され、新たなシーンを切り開く存在として今のこのムーブメントの先駆けとなり夜明けとなったバンドYogee New Waves。
先行でアナログ7inch盤としてシングルカットした新曲「Ride on Wave」や、いまやバンドの代表曲のひとつでもある2015年にアナログ7inch盤でリリースしたシングル「Fantasic Show」が満を持してのCD収録。
他、前作『SUNSET TOWN e.p.』に収録した名曲「Like Sixteen Candles」、『PARAISO』では弾き語りで収録していた「C.A.M.P.」のバンドアレンジなど、
まさに今の“都会”を代表するロックバンドとして、次世代シーンの中でも絶対的な位置を確立しているYogee New Wavesの待ちに待った新作です。名盤です!
アートワークは、1stアルバム『PARAISO』以来となる、岡村靖幸作品の全てのアートワークなどを手掛ける、デザイン・チーム“Aim Design”が担当。
01. Ride on Wave
02. Fantasic Show (album ver.)
03. World is Mine
04. Dive Into the Honeytime
05. Understand
06. Intro (horo)
07. C.A.M.P.
08. Like [...]

くるり Quruli - 魂のゆくえ (Japanese 2LP Gatefold Limited Edition)

* Japanese 2LP Gatefold Limited Edition
Profile (English):
Quruli(くるり Kururi) is a Japanese music group from Kyoto, formed in 1996 by Shigeru Kishida(vocals, guitar), Masashi Sato(Bass, chorus, vocals,), Nobuyuki Mori(Drums).
Description (Japanese):
Side A
1. LV45
2. 愉快なピーナッツ
3. 太陽のブルース
Side B
1. 夜汽車
2. リルレロ
3. つらいことばかり
4. さよならリグレット
Side C
1. かごの中のジョニー
2. Natsuno
3. デルタ
Side D
1. 魂のゆくえ
2. ベベブ
3. 背骨
4. 三日月

eShop Cart

0.