Sokabe Keiichi 曽我部恵一 - Home Town concert

Country: Japan
Label: Rose Records
Released: 10 Oct 2011
Genre: Indie-Rock / Japanese-Indie / Indie-Pop / Indie-Folk
Order ROSE127CD

Shipping Rate: A


* Japanese papersleeve Package

Bio (English):
Sokabe Keiichi is a singer-songwriter from Kagawaken, Japan. Now a solo artist he was previously lead singer and guitarist for Japanese 90s indie group 「サニーデイ・サービス」 ‘Sunny Day Service’. As well as releasing his own records, Sokabe runs Rose Records, a Japan based Independent record label.
Sokabe began Sunny Day Service whilst studying law at Rikkyou University, and in 1994 they had their first major debut release with 『星空のドライブep』, ‘Starry Sky Drive’. After critical aclaim and a number of album releases Sunny Day Service disbanded in 2000. After a year spent as a magazine contributor (bridge) and DJ, Sokabe came back to the music scene with an independent release in 2001, the single 「ギター」, ‘Guitar’. Sokabe went on to release another two singles and an album 「曽我部恵一」 on a major label.
Sokabe’s second album 「瞬間と永遠」 ‘A Moment And Eternity’, featured the kind of mellow acoustic pop familiar to fans of Sunny Day Service, while his third album ‘STRAWBERRY’ was more roots rock and roll style without losing the pop sensibilities of previous releases, and his fourth 「ラブレター」 ‘Love Letter’ a further development of this style.
In 2004 Sokabe set up Rose Records, on which he now releases his own music and that of several signed acts. In that year Sokabe also made an appearance in the film 『青い車』 ‘Blue Car’, for which he contributed the musical score.
Currently Sokabe is hosting an internet radio service from his home page, broadcast every Monday at 12 midnight, and a record shop/bar.
Sokabe has also made numerous appearances at the ‘Dream Power John Lennon Live’ tribute event run by Yoko Ono, and also contributed to YMO and Happy End tribute albums.

Description (Japanese):
自分の作品で言うと2004年にリリースした『shimokitazawa concert』という弾き語りライブアルバムもそうだが、発表するつもりなんて一切ないような録音物がどうしようもなく好きだ。
そこには飾らない音楽と、なぜか発表されることになってしまった原因となる一種の事故のような秘密が息をひそめている。– 曽我部恵一

1. 春の嵐
2. 何もかもがうまくいかない日の歌
3. スロウライダー
5. トーキョー・ストーリー
6. テレフォン・ラブ
7. 青春狂走曲
8. 白い恋人
9. おとなになんかならないで
10. 夢見るようなくちびるに feat.島津田四郎
11. サマー・ソルジャー
12. STARS feat.ライスボウル
13. おかえり
14. コーヒーと恋愛 feat.ミヤタケタカキ(tonari session’s)

Also by Sokabe Keiichi 曽我部恵一

See also...

This Town Needs Guns - +1 (Japanese CD Edition)

* Japanese Digipack CD with bonus tracks
Description (English):
“This Town Needs Guns has always been known for walking a tightrope line between pop melody and technical precision. But, finds the band blurring the lines so masterfully that their intricate, spindling guitar lines and soaring pop hooks reach unforeseen apexes. And, so it’s fitting that the [...]

65daysofstatic - Escape From New York (Japanese Edition)

(Japanese Edition)
A 45 minute rush of tinnitus, contrary techno, fragile guitars, anti-social drum’n’bass in 7/4 and, if you listen carefully, the sound of 20,000 people finding rooms in their heads they never knew were there. The DVD accompanying this release is ‘65DOC’ a road movie, captured by 65 conspirator Caspar Newbolt, over the course of [...]

Doodle - Sacrifice in Despair (CD Edition)

* Digipack CD
Description (Chinese):
One of the Shoegaze / Psychedelic rock band from Taiwan.
來自台灣台北的Doodle於2004年由廖孟桓(吉他/主唱)、郭恆(貝斯)和宿昱星(鼓)三人所組成,以簡約的編制嘗試將各個時期所受影響的不同曲式加以融合,歌曲中無論是層層堆疊的吉他音牆或民謠式的簡單旋律,總離不開大空間系迷離聲響與哀傷情緒。 任何關於迷幻的音樂元素與殘留自夢境的記憶碎片,都企圖捕捉並加以旋轉再放大。雖然經歷了無數次長期休團,終於交出這首張的完整專輯,所有歌曲皆由絲襪小姐/八厘米天空鼓手Zen在他的錄音室112F Recording Studio進行錄音與混音工程,更送交美國Golden Mastering的J.J. Golden (The Warlocks/The Mirror Explodes,The Upsidedown/Human Destination,Devendra Banhart/Cripple Crow…)進行專輯後製處理,共同編織出這趟令人甘願迷失其中的絕望旅程。
1. Entrance – 2:02
2. Dirty Fairy – 3:09
3. Limbo – 4:25
4. Something We Forgot – 3:04
5. Lost in Blue – 6:36
6. Chronic Suicide – 3:50
7. Addiction – 4:28
8. Falling [...]

eShop Cart

0.